We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Men Tour” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chastain Park Amphitheater

Chastain Park Amphitheater
4469 Stella Drive Northwest, Atlanta, GA 30327
(404) 845-0378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 143 Attractions in Atlanta
Attraction details
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kings Men Tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a disappointment. I hope everyone else gets a better concert than we did! The show started two hours late. They said there was a fatal accident in Houston and the production truck was tied up in traffic for hours. I feel really bad for the family who lost their loved one. Kirk and the others could have rented a plane and borrowed equipment to get to the concert on time. They showed a very pointless video that was not funny at all and was inappropriate given the circumstances. 45 min into the concert, they said they had to be done in fifteen minutes because the electricity was going to be shut off. Wish I could get my money back. Will not be supporting them any more. It was handled very poorly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    74
    24
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“chastain park should be ashamed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we drove over 4 hours to come to chastain park to attend a concert and I was so disappointed.first of all we sat in traffic on the street that leads to chastain park for over a hour, then when we finally arrived there parking is absolutely terrible! we ended up having to park about 10 mins away and how to walk to the theatre. When we got there the line to get in the amphitheater was so long we waited another 30 mins for them to let us in the gate. when they finally opened the gate people stormed the gate. and the employees working the gate was so unorganized. they just scanned tickets they never checked to make sure people wasn't bringing in weapons or anything. the security never done security checks in all honesty I think they were very understaffed which I felt that was very unsafe especially with the volume of people that was there. the ushers were rude and everything was just unorganized. it made me wonder if chastain park was equipped to handle a large concert like the one we attended. The performers that we went to see had a unforeseen circumstance and the concert was delayed 2 hours which meant we had to sit and wait and this is a outdoor venue so the mosquitos were every where and every so often huge water bugs would scurry across the ground . When the concert started the head performer told the crowd that he had been pleading with the officials of chastain park if they would extend the hours past 11 pm since the delay was not in their control. but the officials of chastain park said no and that the concert must be finished by 11 pm or georgia power company will shut off the power, so we only got about a 30 minute show and they kept their word because at exactly 11 pm chastain park cut the power. I feel chastain park officials could have made an acception and allowed the performers a little more time on stage. because the delay was due to circumstances that was not in their control.i feel like if the performers were very prestige or more popular i believe chastain park and the city of atlanta would have been more accomadating...... The money that the fans paid to be apart of this concert and then to find out we was only getting 30 mins of time because chastain park refused to allow the artist a little more time is absurd. so many fans including my self left chastain park so disappointed and felt like we definetly didn't get what we paid for...... i feel like if chastain park is going to be ironclad when it comes to their hours of operation, maybe they should not allow big time music artist and big concerts to be held at their venue. because this experience left a bitter taste and I probably would not want to come to another event if it was held at this venue......

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The King's Men Tour-Concert”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This concert was supposed to start @ 8pm. We were informed that the production people left Houston, TX and incurred a fatal accident on the freeway which stopped traffic for a couple of hours. They did not open the gates until 8:20pm. We sat and watched them set the lighting/stage up. The concert did not begin until 9:50pm. I paid $85 for my ticket, $15 for parking and $3 for a small coke. The concert ended promptly @ 11pm due to the city ordinance. $103 for a one hour concert is a lot to pay. The artists announced that they had pleaded with Chastain management to no avail, they had to stop at 11pm or the electricity would be shut off. Needless to say, this was my first time at Chastain and I was beyond dissappointed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DECATUR
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great small venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a very nice place to see an outdoor concert. You can (and should) bring a picnic dinner (tray & eating utensils) to eat before the show. Some of the folks have some very elaborate set-ups. Highly recommend

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Shlep-fest! However always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

When you can bring a cooler, expect it to be a loud, crowded place for concerts. It is fun having your own wine/cheese etc at your feet. Bring a small table if you arent at one. AND ALWAYS BRING an umbrella and rain jacket... it is BRUTAL when it rains during a concert, which it invarioubly does... great selection of bands play at Chastain Park.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chastain Park Amphitheater also viewed

 

Been to Chastain Park Amphitheater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chastain Park Amphitheater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.