We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South City Kitchen Midtown

South City Kitchen Midtown
1144 Crescent Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30309-3649 (Midtown)
4048737358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
South City Kitchen Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 3,427 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 14th Street
Transit: MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.
Description: Celebrating over 18 year as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue. Dine on local Southern favorites such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the city skyline on one of the best patios in the city. This truly is dining the way the new South intended.
Marietta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“All around excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been to this restaurant many times and every visit is better than the last. The staff is very attentive and accomadating. All items on the menu are great but my most favorite is the fried boneless chicken with collard greens and potatoes. All of the apps are fantastic as well. The wine menu is extensive and staff is very helpful at describing the different wines if you want to try something new, love love love this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    177
    43
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Noisy and rushed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

In the area where we were seated the clatter and noise level was distracting. The service was friendly but very rushed. Appetizers arrived instantly and we'd barely finished when the entrees came. Pretty much all the main courses are deep fried. That said, the food was well prepared and had interesting touches.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Upscale home cooking - Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A wonderful experience. Who would have thought that fried chicken could be so elegant and delicious. The place was packed but our waiter, Bobby, made us feel as though we were his only customer. Expect nothing but quality food and service. I hope that I get another opportunity to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great recipes and Southern flavors off the busy path in Midtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the buttermilk chicken and the BLT with fried green tomatoes and goat cheese. Sat on front porch, service was friendly and prompt ... will return for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Flawless Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In our search for regional food in our short trip to Atlanta, this place was recommended to us by a few knowledgeable locals. We arrived as it opened @ 11 a.m., on a Monday. We expected the restaurant to be still in the throes of opening after a busy weekend. However, we were nicely surprised to find the place 100% ready. In fact, we weren’t even the first customers to be seated. Wow, how many restaurants have their act together the 1st minute open of a Monday?

Despite the Atlanta heat, we opted to dine outside. The industrial sized water spritzer fans kept us cool throughout our visit. We’d actually never seen those before. You’d think we’d be wet, but the water didn’t condense on us at all. For appetizers we tried the Fried Green Tomatoes [obviously] and the Crab soup. Both were excellent! We then had the Country Captain and Shrimp+Red Mule Grits as the main meal. The Country Captain was nicely spiced, the Mule Grits uniquely tasty. Wonderful! We ended lunch with the Pecan Pie, which turned out to be a delectable dessert to end the meal.

Service was remarkably pleasant and thorough. Interiors nicely done. The restaurant is much bigger than what might be observed from the street. Bathrooms are decent albeit look a little small given the size of the restaurant. There were some beautiful ladies around us also for their lunch. Some looked like models and ordered the weekly Monday special of fried chicken and waffles [they were obviously regulars]. How do they stay so slim…

Prices really reasonable given the food, décor, location, and service. Easy to find a place to park. In fact we parked on the street, in front of the restaurant. But its summer and I think there’s a lot less people downtown or midtown this time of year.

I can really find no fault with our lunch. I somewhat hesitate to give a restaurant a 5 out of 5 based on a lunch encounter, and without a test of the bartender and their ability to make a mixed cocktail [I skipped my usual mixed drink due to personal reasons]. A dinner would be a better and more comprehensive test of the restaurant [see my review of the Canoe]. So, I’ll have to try this restaurant again on my next visit to Atlanta, come for dinner, and give it another review at that time.

So for this review of a weekday [Monday] lunch encounter, it’s a 5/5.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South City Kitchen Midtown also viewed

 

Been to South City Kitchen Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South City Kitchen Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.