We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great southern fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South City Kitchen Midtown

South City Kitchen Midtown
1144 Crescent Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30309-3649 (Midtown)
4048737358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
South City Kitchen Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 3,540 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 14th Street
Transit: MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.
Description: Celebrating over 18 year as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue. Dine on local Southern favorites such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the city skyline on one of the best patios in the city. This truly is dining the way the new South intended.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great southern fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Chose South City Kitchen base on Trip Adviser reviews and were very happy we did. Had dinner with my wife two nights ago and enjoyed the whole experience - great southern cooking and a lively atmosphere. We were thankful we had reservations as the place was packed. The fried green tomatoes were tasty although there was more breading than tomato. However, the pork belly appetizer was the best I have had - crispy and full of flavor. My wife's filet mignon with fingerling potatoes was shockingly good. My shrimp and mussels country captain was a great mix of flavors, including curry. The mussels were perfectly cooked and the spicy sausage added a nice punch.

If you are looking for southern "cuisine" this is the place. Recommend it most strongly. Give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    231
    48
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Soooo Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Based on other reviews I made reservations for a late lunch for a large group in for NCAA final four, although we were staying downtown the restaurant was easy to get to via Metra and after our great lunch we decided to walk back downtown.
We started with great cocktails and appetizers and then fried chicken and waffles, catfish poboys, crab cake hash, chicken salad, all sooooo good. I sure wish I could remember our server's name, she was awesome, we started with 10 people and added 2, no problem for her!!! She would remember us because she did a C A R D S cheer withnus before we left, great job!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Top Contributor
462 reviews 462 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
932 helpful votes 932 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lots of Traditional Southern Food Choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is in a convenient downtown location with a lot of standard southern cuisine choices. Food choices were excellent, and the service was professional and high level. Didn't think I would like shrimp and grits but it was delicious.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

South City Kitchen offers up my favorite brunch in Atlanta. Their "MC" Muffin Benedict is absolutely melt-in-your-mouth perfection. Their homemade granola and seasonal fruit always hits the spot as well. It's always packed for Sunday Brunch, so get a reservation but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The crab hash and other benedict options are all great. If you're looking for a little more refined brunch than Flying Biscuit, look no further.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visiting from the West Coast, we were looking for "Southern" cuisine....something we couldn't get in California. We certainly found it! As others have mentioned, the fried green tomatoes with goat cheese, sweet pepper coulis ( that's. thick vegetable sauce) and a basil chiffonade ($7.50) was incredible! Yum! The rest of our meal was equally as delicious and Rod, our server, was the best... Very attentive, personable and professional. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Atlanta!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South City Kitchen Midtown also viewed

 

Been to South City Kitchen Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South City Kitchen Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.