We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Favorite in Atlanta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's on the River

Ray's on the River
6700 Powers Ferry Rd NW, Atlanta, GA 30339-2939
770-955-1187
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's on the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #188 of 3,422 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-285 and Powers Ferry Rd
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Favorite in Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spectacular setting, great atmosphere, food and service. Everything I have eaten at Rays has been great. It is right on the Chatahoochie River. We usually get a drink and walk along the river after ordering our meal. Probably not the best place for kids, but we take ours for special occassions - Mother's Day, birthdays etc. As long as they are well behaved, they are well accepted. I say the value is "average" because evertying is very expensive, but also very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    129
    84
    39
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good for business or pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our recent (family) experience with Ray's on the River was an excellent birthday treat! The service was impeccable as we had someone who viewed his role as a waiter as a profession, rather than just a job. The food choice would satisfy nearly every palate and the preparation was spot on.

As others have mentioned, the view from the back of the dining room overlooking the river is nice - although the restaurant could do more with the garden area in between.

All in all, whether for business or romantic dinner, Ray's on the River will not disappoint!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Upscale yet casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I was visiting in-laws when they invited my husband and I to this wonderful hidden gem. Even though I didn't feel quite dressed appropriately (shorts and t-shirt), the staff didn't make me feel like u didn't belong. We were greeted and sat promptly by a really nice waitress. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave great drink and entree recommendations. The atmosphere was relaxing. There was a jazz singer, pianist and keyboard player; they set an old school swing-jazz vibe that everyone seemed to appreciate. I look forward to visiting again for both the delicious food and ambiance.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Great Atlanta Dining Experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am willing to pay for the environment here. The location, the water, the valet, all very nice. THE FOOD - uh huh! That's why I go to eat at this place! Pricey but worth it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Brunch on me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Sunday brunch is the time I go with family and/or friends. And can you say 'stuffed to the gills' - with an outstanding array of breakfast delights and lunch time treats that insists you stay and try them all!?! Try it with a Mimosa to help wash it all down and you're good to go!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's on the River also viewed

 

Been to Ray's on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.