We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nan Thai Fine Dining

Nan Thai Fine Dining
1350 Spring St NW, Ste 1, Atlanta, GA 30309-2860 (Midtown)
404-870-9933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nan Thai Fine Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 3,274 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Lovejoy, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dined yesterday afternoon with my sister and buisness asst. Food A+, Service A+, Ambiance A+, Ladies' Room nicest I've been in. Sister and I just looked at each other and stated .."I'm so relaxed. So happy" Jasmine tea, Pad Thai, Green Curry, Coconut cake and ice cream... So many layers of flavor and joy....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    52
    16
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Upmarket Thai cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited Nan some time ago when it first opened and I am not sure why we did not return until now because the food really is very good and the atmosphere and ambiance very pleasant. We were a party of six and were seated on time at a round table by a charming hostess. The extensive menu choices are mostly based around the traditional red and green curries, but they have the non spicy massaman sauces as well as a couple of dishes like the whole red snapper which is fried and conveniently cut into junks. It is in a sweet chilli sauce.
We shared four appetizers, the dumplings, beef and chicken sate, vegetarian rolls and the kalamari. All were very good. Our main dishes ranged from the aforementioned red snapper which I loved but the little face and sharp teeth staring at me from the plate may be disconcerting to some. They prepared a special version of Pad Tai for our vegetarian guest. All of the food was beautifully presented and the wine selection is decent. One word of warning is that the red curry is hot, and this is from a family of avid curry eaters.
I rarely find the need to mention the bathrooms in these reviews but they are quite lovely with a feeling that you have gone to a spa for a few minutes.
Parking by valet is convenient and the location is only a minute or two from the highway.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nan - True Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is an excellent Thai restaurant. The atmosphere is elegant with subtle lighting and plenty of places to either enjoy a group dinner or more intimate meal with family or couples. Service was what I would expect from such a 'classy' place. Not rushed but attentive, polite and helpful.

The food was presented with the Thai attention to detail. We started with the 'Tasting Tree' which offered a good selection of appetizers. The beef satay was outstanding as was the delicately flavored calamari. The crispy tamarind spring rolls were a little oily but the 'Royal Thai' dumplings were tasty. The house Merlot was just fine as was the Chardonnay. For our entrees we ordered Shrimp Green Curry which was, as promised, spicy and very tasty. The Gang Panang Talay, provided a generous portion of shrimp, scallop and mussels (mussels were a little on the dry side) presented beautifully with a side order of Masaman curry sauce which allowed us to decide quite how much of a kick as we wanted add. The third in our party chose the chicken curry with Red Curry sauce. This proved to be a little too spicy for her taste but again was very flavorful and cooked perfectly. Thai food can be spicy so if you are new to it ask the waiter to recommend dishes that won't have you gasping to the water glass.

$150 for three with tip so not cheap but well worth the price in my view.

If you are a golf fan you'll enjoy the displays of the Master's memorabilia in a case on the way to the opulent bathrooms. My guess is either side of Masters week you likely find quite a few of the players enjoying a great meal at this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our emergency choice for a Christmas dinner after the Terrace on Peachtree turned out to be a bust. They have valet parking but it is very fast. The meal had a perfect pace and our waitress gave us some good suggestions on wine and appetizers.

The meal was paced great! We ordered the appetizers and wine while looking at the menu for our entree. They brought our appetizers very quick and we finished them before ordering our entree. Our entree arrived soon after. I was afraid of some really long waits since we ordered as the evening progressed but that was not the case. We ordered green curry and Sea Bass. The green curry is a bit spicy but not too bad if you like spicy foods. The Sea Bass has a wonderful sauce that went well with the Pinot Grigio wine I ordered.

We finished the meal with coffee and dessert since we didn't want the evening to end. Our valet was quick to get our car when the evening ended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a classy and special Thai experience and oh so affordable !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

many people I speak to about Nan have never been there but think of it as an expensive night out all the while thinking Thai food should not be expensive. Nan simply takes Thai dishes to a higher level in an atmosphere that is so comfortable and classy with prices that are equal to an average night out at most good restaurants . you are cheating yourself out of a culinary experience by not going there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nan Thai Fine Dining also viewed

 

Been to Nan Thai Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nan Thai Fine Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.