We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great example of Southern comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mac's Tea Room

Mary Mac's Tea Room
224 Ponce De Leon Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30308-1938 (Midtown)
404-876-1800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 113 Coffee & Tea in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great example of Southern comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Mary Mac' Tea Room is what it is - no fuss Southern comfort food. Don't go there expecting fancy table linens, molecular gastronomy, romantic ambiance, or business diners in bespoke suits. This place does all of the Southern classics like fried chicken, greens, mac n' cheese, sweet tea, dumplings... without any embellishments like Italian white truffle oil. It is what you would expect at a family Sunday supper in the South. The service was excellent, attentive, and polite. And the prices are affordable as indicated by their web site. They have parking off of Myrtle Street too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    474
    165
    46
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Somewhat ok if you have no choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The starter was good with the crackling but not much else. The bread pudding was a major disappointment. It was just sugary syrup and flour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thought I was in Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If it is superb southern food you have looking for - this is the place. Vegetables were prepared perfectly and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Banana Pudding was to die for...
I have read some of the previous reviews and it sounds like they went to a different restaurant.
The entire experience was clearly a "10'!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
477 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
“Enjoyed some of the dishes, others not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We arrived in Atlanta on Friday night and when we got to our hosts house, there was an article from The Atlanta Journal that evening with a headline “At Mary Mac’s, it’s about Hospitality”. Our hosts were planning to take us there on the day we were to fly back to Boston. We read the article and were looking forward to our visit. I ordered the Vegetable Plate so I could try 4 of the sides and my husband got the fried chicken and two different sides. Our hosts had been there several times as they had lived in Atlanta all their lives.
The rolls that came out with the drinks were soft and tasty. Husband had the sweet tea (advertised as the Table Wine of the South). It was overly sweet and could not taste any of the tea. Our hosts had the unsweetened version and thought the tea was a bit light in flavor as well.
I really enjoyed the cheese grits, fried green tomatoes, pickled beets and the cream corn but did not enjoy the macaroni and cheese or the spiced apples. The Mac and Cheese was not warm so it wasn’t oozy with cheese. The spiced apples had no spice and appeared to be half sliced apple and half apple sauce. The spiced apple photo on TA did not resemble what I received.
As for hospitality, while our server was cordial and efficient, we had much more hospitable experiences at the other restaurants we went to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I don't know what all the fuss is about this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My statement above pretty much says it all. I was with a group of 15 or so on a Friday night. The food was o.k. Nothing great. I really don't see why everyone raves about this place. It's southern, that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mary Mac's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mac's Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.