We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Casual BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Matt's Rib Shack

Fat Matt's Rib Shack
1811 Piedmont Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30324-5214 (Morningside - Lenox Park)
404-607-1622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 3,485 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Morningside - Lenox Park
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good Casual BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good barbecue. Not sure about the previous comment regarding it being pricey. $4.20 for a BBQ pork sandwich (with chips) doesn't seem unreasonable. Also had the rib sandwich ($5.75) and it was excellent.

Lines can get long. We went on a Friday night and the line was out the door, so came back on Saturday afternoon (still a line, but not as long).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    135
    41
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Slamming ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place was recommended by a few people so I figured I had to try it. They were all right. Fantastic food and exactly as advertised.
A little pricey but good food is worth it.
Nothing fancy for tables inside or out but hey it is what it is.
Excellent blues band playing while I waited for my take out
Service was fantastic and served up with a smile.
Parking was tough and be careful parking behind the place to the left as I was almost blocked in
I will go back every time I'm in Atlanta

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Oh Fat Matt's I miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

While I was living in Atlanta, Fat Matt's was my favorite blues and ribs place. They were like a family for me (no not the ribs).
Go to the Fat Matt's
*If you have low cholesterol
*If you enjoy sitting close to other people, and talk to strangers (they become nice drunk strangers after 9 pm or so)
*If you love blues
*If you are not on a romantic date during which you are planning to look into your women's eyes, and hold her hands (yeah your hands will be greasy)

Enjoy that place while you can.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“These ribs beat Memphis barbecue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a weekend eating Memphis barbecue recently, my husband told me that he remembered a great place in Atlanta that had the best ribs he'd ever eaten. It had been a couple of decades since he's tried them, but Saturday we stopped in after a visit to the Georgia Aquarium. I'm a person who actually thinks ribs are too much work for the small amount of meat you glean from them, but Fat Matt's uses great country style ribs. They were huge and so juicy and tasty, I'll probably never try the old skinny kind again. I am not sure, but they seemed to have both a barbecue rub and sauce on them. Really tasty, and so were the cole slaw and brunswick stew.
More than worth the price and the 8 minute wait in line.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great barbecue and cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Feeding a family if 5 for 40 bucks and great food to boot, You've got to be kidding right? Nope, this is exactly what you get at fat Matt's. The line looked intimidating but moved fast. The place is a little cramped but definitely worth the wait. give it a try, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Matt's Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to Fat Matt's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Matt's Rib Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.