We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming southern hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Vinings Inn

Old Vinings Inn
3011 Paces Mill Rd NW, Atlanta, GA 30339
+1 770-438-2282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Vinings Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #193 of 3,274 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Paces Mill and Paces Ferry
Description: In the quaint town of Vinings, steeped in local history, visit one of Atlanta's oldest historic sites. Our charming building dates back to the early 1800's and has been lovingly preserved to provide you with a comfortable and gracious dining experience. The Old Vinings Inn offers Southern cuisine and a carefully selected wine and cocktail list to complement and enhance our Chef's award winning creations.
san francisco CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Charming southern hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I was alone on a business trip to Atlanta and this restaurant was close to my hotel. The host and waiter made me very comfortable and even offered to bring me one fried green tomato since he knew that eating the full appetizer alone with an entrée would be too much. The fried green tomato was amazing - the layer of goat cheese was different and wonderful. My shrimp & grits were also an upscale version with a poached egg on top. The wine list had an impressive array of really good California wines by the glass which I appreciated. I'm only sorry I had no room for dessert - I'm sure it would have been great.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rare Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Wonderful place, great food and the atmosphere is perfect. After a great dinner you can walk it off in the area. We will be back and dif look forward to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamblee, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Dinner with a group of 9 in this old converted house in the pleasant Vinings section of Atlanta. Very accessible to the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center (and the future new Atlanta Braves stadium). No elevator, so the stairs killed my bad knee.

Our group was placed in a nice private room, and the service was excellent!

Our meals were a mixed bag of excellent, very good, and less than hoped for. In the excellent category I recommend the charcutie plate appetizer (homemade pimiento cheese spread is terrific!), pecan mountain trout, Spring Mountain chicken, braised short ribs, or shrimp and grits. For dessert, go for the white chocolate banana bread pudding or warm bourbon apple cobbler.

A couple of us "foodies" were disappointed in the calamari and expected more with the fried green tomato appetizers. There was also nothing special about the catfish main course special of the day.

All in all, it was a good, comfortable, and pleasant dining experience. If one is looking for an exquisite special occasion or "knock your socks off" dining treat, however, find an alternative.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dinner alone ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

If you drive up and gasp that it's in an old house, leave. Otherwise you'll have a very nice time. Good was good. Service fine. And location in Vinings is very cute. Probably not a place for a business group type dinner unless it was informal in nature and/or you were looking for something rustic/cute/cottage ish.

Very much a couples type dinner place or small wedding reception/rehearsal dinner type atmosphere. I could see bringing my mom here for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Laid back Upscale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Expect affable comfort rather than formal stuffiness. So leave your ‘Sunday best’ at home & enjoy a laid back dinner. A nicely varied menu that produced a very good meal – with a special honorable mention for the lamb lollipops & I rather enjoyed my fried green tomato appetizer as well. My only slight quibble was the ‘ripeness’ of their wine list which was peppered with wines that still should be sleeping in the cellar for a few more years.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vinings Inn also viewed

 

Been to Old Vinings Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Vinings Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.