We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and Wonderful Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
1679 Lavista Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30329-3414
(404) 325-0330
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #631 of 3,465 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Wonderful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Located close to emory this place is always hopping. They have a great selection of salads, pizza and sandwiches. The staff is always very friendly, the food is very good and the price is reasonable. I recommend the BBQ pizza as its my favorite. Don't forget to start with a ceasar salad and cheese bread. I have been eating at this location for the past 10 plus years.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas/Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pizza- bad parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had never been to a Mellow Mushroom before, and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the pizza. Definitely plan to try the one near our home. Price is a little high, but pizza is of high quality, including slices of tomato on top.

This restaurant really needs to do something about its parking- it is inadequate for the number of tables inside. We got the last spot on the lot and the restaurant was no where close to full. As a previous reviewer stated, the drive behind the restaurant is very tight- I wouldn't try it with a Suburban.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great trivia night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have friends that go to Mellow Mushroom everyweek to participate on the trivia. It is always fun but sometimes too crowded. The food is great! My favorite pizzas are the Mighty Meat and the Thai Dye.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awful Service - Good (but over-priced) Gluten Free”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Atmosphere –
Good location, but the parking lot is difficult to navigate – if you have to go around the back of the building it gets very narrow/tight…proceed slowly. Pretty standard pizza type place on the inside. For the most part it was clean

The Food –
Greek Salad – Pretty standard – good dressing – really big.

Mighty Meaty Gluten Free Pizza – we came here specifically to try the Gluten Free Pizza and it turns out it was pretty good. The crust was nice and crunchy. However, like most places, there is a ridiculous up-charge for gluten free.

The Service –
We came here for a Saturday lunch. There seemed to be only two servers for the entire restaurant (which was pretty full). Service, needless to say, was AWFUL, LOUSY, TERRIBLE (pick your own word). We waited forever to be acknowledged. Our server also seemed to be working the bar and many times we would see her just standing at the bar talking to people (not working). Our Salad took forever to come out - once our server was finished socializing at the bar, she finally went back and made our salad (it probably took around 20 minutes to get).

The Value –
Terrible value – way overcharge for Gluten Free items – not surprisingly, they don’t even list the prices on the Gluten Free menu. Service was the WORST we have ever experienced anywhere...and it's not because she was terribly busy, just inattentive. Other tables were seemingly ignored too.

Conclusion –
Despite, the pizza being good, we will NEVER go back here. Maddio's has better gluten free anyway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
“Best pizza in Town!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We usually go to mellow mushroom for lunch and sometimes dinner. After trying many different pizza places in atlanta we think this is the best place. It has hip decor and great service most of the times. Sometimes service might be slow if there is a rush.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.