We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good French cuisine. Only downside-easy to miss location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Violette Restaurant

Violette Restaurant
2948 Clairmont Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30329-1612
404-633-3363
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Violette Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #404 of 3,465 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Clairmont/I-85
Transit: We are on MARTA bus line 19, which runs between Chamblee and Decatur stations.
Description: Violette Restaurant offers classic French cuisine at affordable prices, a full bar, and an extensive wine list. With an atmosphere exuding warmth and charm, live music 5 nights a week, and friendly service, Violette is the place for an intimate dinner or a festive celebration. The restaurant has a tree-covered patio for "al fresco" dining and two large party rooms for private functions. We are Brookhaven's best-kept-secret.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very good French cuisine. Only downside-easy to miss location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Enjoyed dining here with a Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Atlanta monthly lunch group; Had the 3-cheeses quiche and salad (just under $10), while friends had a variety of dishes that everyone enjoyed.
Service was friendly, from the parking attendant (valet parking is the only option) to the wait staff.
Server provided bread before the meal and readily provided separate checks for our group members. Will probably try the trout or salmon when come back next time.
See that there have not been much in the way of recent review of Violette, so glad to add this one.
Is there a downside? It is that it is easy to miss the restaurant. Would never know it existed were it not for another congregation member who dined here regularly; no sign visible from the street. It is located at 2948 Clairmont Road, 30329, across the street and just a tad past the Sam's Club. Can be a little tricky getting into the access when there is stop-and-go traffic across the street from Sam's. You might even take a look at Google Earth and a map before coming out here.
Will certainly come back here.
Please do note if you find my review helpful. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“French with real panache, without the attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

What a pleasant dining experience! It was more like country French than anything any other major city can muster. Comfortable environment. Nice live music. Good bar with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. On the evening of June 12, Darryl was our server. I had escargot followed by Coquilles St. Jacques - awesome. Paired with a Viognier wine. My wife had the beet salad followed by the stuffed chicken breast. She raved. Our guests had grilled salmon on house-special potato crisps. Dessert was a shared creme brulee. Though a bit harried due to a last-minnute short-staffing issue - Darryl was quick, helpful and good spirited. The whole staff were a refreshing departure from the stuffy & starched, pencil-thin mustached, fake-french-accent with condescending attitude which is so much the routine at many in-town French restaurants. Combine all of this with a price FOR THE FOUR of us which was more typical of a family steakhouse, than French cuisine, we will DEFINITELY return!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Genuine French Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

La Violette is a fantastic French restaurant in the north Atlanta suburban area. It is understated in it's appearance, but very elegant, and well appointed once you walk in. There is live piano music, beautiful art on the walls, very elegant seating area. The service is prompt and professional. I order an appetizer that was delicious and very large. The main course was well executed, and you can buy wine by the glass. The night was memorable, and I do not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Atlanta.Enjoy!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Celebration place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We love to come here and celebrate any occasion here. It's excellent menu and elegant atmosphere is hard to beat at such a price. Definitely different!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We celebrated our son's graduation from college with a special dinner here. The food and the service were exceptional. Salads, main courses and desserts were all delicious. Our waiter was competent but unpretentious, which I like. I definitely plan to return here for another special occasion. We had our dinner inside but next time I'd like to try the patio. We also enjoyed the live music (piano on a Friday night.) The excellent cuisine, friendly atmosphere and polished service all made this a memorable occasion for us.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Violette Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Violette Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Violette Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.