We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris in the Deep South?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anis Cafe & Bistro

Anis Cafe & Bistro
2974 Grandview Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-3214
404-233-9889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anis Cafe & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 3,460 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pharr Road
alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Paris in the Deep South?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great atmosphere and great food. Cozy bar and patio or indoor dining. We almost didn't make it to the dining area because the bar reminded us of Paris ... unassuming with incredibly good wine, bread and cheese. Food in the dining room was tasty and creative. Several entrees feature new twists on traditional dishes. We came from out of town and were fortunate to find this gem tucked away on a side street in Buckhead. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    51
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Multicultural Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My boyfriend was visiting from Belgium and he absolutely loved Anis! He felt back at home in Europe. The staff is so gracious and friendly. The food was incredible (the mussels are a must have). Just a great experience...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Authentic and fantastic ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Love the ambiance in this restaurant. There are great choices. It is a casual place to visit with friends and enjoy good food. Rabbit dish is exceptional. Live music with French musicians o. Special nights. You will enjoy this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“We love Anis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I have been to Anis several times, and it has become one of our favorite restaurants in Atlanta. The food, service, and ambience are terrific. The place is absolutely wonderful.

We started out with the calamari and cheese plate for appetizers. The entrees included the Osso Buco special, trout, and Boeuf au Poivre. All were outstanding.

Desserts were also good, but the flourless chocolate cake was a bit dry and bland.

They have a nice selection of French wines, and were very helpful in our selection process since my knowledge of French wines is a bit limited.

The service was polite, helpful, friendly, and attentive. We sat for hours eating, drinking and talking, and never felt rushed.

Anis is a great place to go either as a couple, or with your friends. We took some friends with us on our most recent visit. We sat outside on the covered patio, and as it got dark, between the flickering candles and the hanging lights, it was a wonderful place to spend some time with good friends. We had great food, great wine, and great conversation. It was a most enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice location with bland food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Positive: nice relaxing experience on a very pleasant patio. No rush or pressure and the staff were generally OK. We arived around 6PM to enjoy dining outside before going on to another event and the hostess seemed offended that we dared to arrive without a reservation even though the restaurant was +/-90% empty (she was American not French btw) which irritated me since there was only 2 of us. If reservations are a requirement at all times then say so on the website so diners can take that into account. My main negative is that the food was bland with no depth of flavor. Bread seemed to have been bought from a mainstream grocery chain so nothing unique. Appetizers were mussels and the clams. Entres were the salmon and the trout. Dessert = the bread pudding. Other reviewers raved & said the food was same as they had in France. Maybe we went on a bad night but I always loved the depth of flavor found in the food I ate in almost any restaurant in France or even the French West Indies and it just was not there in the Anis food. I cannot say that the food was good value for money although the location made up for a lot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anis Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Anis Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anis Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.