We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant layout and vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's Down the Hatch - CLOSED

Dante's Down the Hatch
3380 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)
(404) 266-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Buckhead
Description: Within a building, we are a Mediterranean-harbor-village, complete with a wharf, an 18,000 gallon moat,within which sits a 3 masted sailing ship about to head out to sea. We are also a rescue house for confiscated crocidillians. We've had a mating and birthing for crocodiles and turtle. And CHILD Magazine dubs us "child friendly for responsible children". Live intellectual jazz performs 6 nights a week, acuoustic guitar on Monday, the Jazz groups night off. Major musicians pop in regularly when in town at NO extra cost. Menu is SWISS Fondue, we are one of the two oldest fondue supper clubs in our nation, the owner--- trained in Switzerland back in the 1960s where he discovered Fondue while on military leave skiing in the Alps. (Then there were no fonude restaurants in the US.)All employees are putting themelve though college and grad school with a handful of HS kids saving money for college. Our employees "give a damn", so come see for yourself.Reservations welcomed; often needed. On the floor nitely is owner Dante Stephensen...ask for him...and yes, he handles all complaints personally, but we hope you have none.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant layout and vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was on a business trip in Atlanta and our group attened dinner at this restaurant and we sat on the ship which is excellent! The decor and the way the restaurant looks inside is amazing and very intimate. The fondue was amazing and they even have their menu's in any language you can think of!! Great, great, great!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    21
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“LAST VACATION NIGHT DINNER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to Dante's on our last night of a most wonderful trip to Atlanta. The place has a ship inside with a real croc in the water, and it's decorated throughout the place in a unique fashion. The three-piece jazz trio were superb and played our requests. The atmosphere lovely and romantic. The service and food was wonderful. Will was our waiter and was great!!! The only downside to Dante's is learning that it's closing on July 30th. So if you find yourself in the Atlanta area, do yourself a favor and get to Dante's while it's still open. Such a shame, as there seems to be less and less jazz clubs around of this genre. It's non-smoking, the music isn't extremely loud, so you're able to converse. We got the chance after dinner to speak to Dante, who's a charming fellow. He even showed us a pic of his "cat", a cheetah.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Don't wait, July 31 will be here all too soon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We sat on the poop deck next to the ship's wheel where we overlooked the jazz trio playing below. We shared cheese fondue plus four different entrees and and bottle of Dante"s private label Pinotage Reserve. After dinner we had a chance to thank him for his forty plus years of serving Atlanta and wish him well. Please take the time to make a reservation before it is too late and you have missed a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I simply love this place! My boyfriend took me to Dante's a few years ago for our anniversary and it turned out to be my favorite restaurant. It is truly sad to see that it is closing. The service is a amazing, the atmosphere is romancing, and the decorations are priceless. The experience of the restaurant is once in a lifetime. Every time we go we find something new we hadn't seen before. It is a must see!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a shame they are closing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had the pleasure of going to Dante's last night for our first time. I can not say how much we enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food. It is a shame they are closing, but they have been here in Atlanta for over 45 years and I can see why! The restaurant is setup like a sailing ship docked at port. The seating is spread throughout the restaurant like you were either in a store in the port, or on the ship. Live jazz (and GOOD jazz at that) is playing throughout the evening. The staff was courteous, professional and quick to answer any questions. They were prompt to bring your food and drinks filled!

I would defenitely recommend you visit this place before they close permanently in July 2013.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's Down the Hatch also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dante's Down the Hatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.