We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Fez

Imperial Fez
2285 Peachtree Rd NE, Ste 102, Atlanta, GA 30309 (Buckhead)
404-351-0870
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #603 of 3,398 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Buckhead
Loganville, Georgia
1 review
“Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Dear friends of ours, my husband and I went to The Imperial Fez on our anniversaries. We were each married on the same date: 48 and 43 years respectively. We had a wonderful experience there. The food was excellent, the entertainment delightful and the service thoughtful. The mesh between courses and entertainment was very cleverly done. We asked to meet the owner and chef, who was very hospitable and made us feel most welcome. He told us a bit about his history, the history of Fez and wove some magic around our evening. We received "special" anniversary crowns, desserts and candles to make an anniversary wish.

I'm already planning an all girlfriend visit later this summer. We may even get up and dance with the belly dancer during part of the show. Not many places can boast a 100A rating either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    35
    34
    20
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“DIVAS ON DECK BIRTHDAY DINNER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was a great experience for us, we really enjoyed ourselves. Food was different but well prepared and very enjoyable. Eating with my fingers was a new experience but the tasty food made it worthwhile. I ordered the lamb and it was a great choice, it was well cooked and delicious! No one had any complaints about their food. Its a must try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Get out of your 'comfort zone'!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Sad to read negative reviews---THIS IS NOT your typical American style restaurant---EXPECT to experience a different country and some of the culture when dining here! Get out of your comfort zone and sit almost on the floor, eat with your hands and fingers, sit close to other people, and shake your hips with a belly dancer (or have her shake hers in front of you!)!!
Plan at least 2 hours--THIS IS A FIVE COURSE MEAL---every nice American restaurant keeps you at least 45 min-1hour for just a salad and an Entree---that is just TWO courses!!
As for the price---$45-55 is reasonable for a FIVE COURSE MEAL---exotic ingredients like pinenuts, dates, apricots, figs, Lamb, etc. are not cheap!
All of the dishes were amazing with so much flavor! For those that like spicy---add the Harissa (red paste sauce with crushed chile flakes) to each bite! Yumm!
The B'stilla is an appetizer in phyllo pastry dusted with powdered sugar. For those that do not know, most Moroccan food has a sweet & savory aspect to each dish....with a wide use of fruits and root vegetables. Certainly not your average meal! Wish this place was closer to my home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good, but know what you're getting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Imperial Fez is a traditional Morrocan restaurant where you remove your shoes, sit on or very close to the floor, and eat with your hands. Now, this is NOT the restaurant to go to with people you do not know or are mild acquaintances. You want to really, really know the people OR just all agree to use forks. Very simple solution. So, great for a first experience, great for couples, Andre families and close friends.

The food is stupendous. Lots of variety, lots of favors. The portions are huge. The belly dance show is entertaining.

I gave it four stars due to the prices. It's just too pricey, even with the groupon. Make sure you know that the groupon only does $45 per person. You do get 5 courses and as stated, the food is very, very good. But, $52 for beef ribs or mahi mahi is too much. So, even after the groupon, for two of us with tax, tip, over $45 supplement, our bill was another $50. So, keep this is mind.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Biggest rip off in Atlanta way tooo much $$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

It was long time wish to make it here bcz prices..so finally we used Groupons to save..you wish..so we were forced to buy adult entrees for kids(4) !! if we use it..and we paid groupon aprox $150 and at the place another aprox $150..+ just tip alone $70 + valley parking only$$ OMG !food was average, meats on dry side..nothing to justify prices like that.Never again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Fez also viewed

 

Been to Imperial Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Fez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.