We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Atlanta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta Ristorante Italiano

La Grotta Ristorante Italiano
2637 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-3667
404-231-1368
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Grotta Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,424 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: West Wesley
Transit: Lakeview Drive and Peachtree Road
Description: La Grotta has been an Atlanta tradition since 1978 and offers fine dining in an intimate atmosphere overlooking a beautiful garden in the heart of Buckhead.As one of the top restaurants in Buckhead, La Grotta has been voted the Best Italian Restaurant by Atlanta Magazine for 16 years in a row, the AAA Four Diamond Award recipient for 15 years and long time winner of the Di Rona Award.Enjoy traditional Northern Italian appetizers like the Vitello Tonnato to fresh homemade pastas like Goat Cheese Stuffed Ravioli. Other Menus items feature Grilled Veal Chop, Roasted Venison Chops and Filet Mignon with Melted Gorgonzola.Guests will also find an extensive wine list with Italian and New World wines (over 400 different labels).
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian in Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you haven't had the experience of dining at this Buckhead hideaway you are depriving yourself. The hospitality, service, and food are the finest in town. Great wine list with enough selections that won't blow a hole in your wallet. Walter is my personal favorite server (former sommelier at Nikolai's Roof back in its heyday), he'll philosophize with you regarding any subject you can imagine, and his wine knowledge will fill you like drinking from a fire hose.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    103
    27
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, and spectacular home cooked italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Tucked away in the lower level of an anonymous apartment block on Peachtree NE is this gem of a restaurant.
Staffed by experienced and friendly waiters, and an apparently gifted chef & kitchen staff, you will not be disappointed with either the service or the food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

First visited this restaurant 25 years ago and recently returned. We were not disappointed. Saw a local news reporter in the elevator on our way down to this "grotto." Very romantic atmosphere. The pastas are always delicious. My friends had the sea bass and loved it (a special).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Atlanta's Finest Traditional Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

La Grotta exists in a very small niche of Atlanta restaurants -- not trendy, not flashy, not here today/gone tomorrow; but rather like an old friend you are happy to see year after year to celebrate the good times in your life. We don't go to La Grotta often, but when we do it seldom disappoints. We went last night with friends to celebrate two birthdays. All was as usual as you travel through the lobby of a dated apartment building to the elevator that takes you down to the basement (after all, "La Grotta" means "The Cave" in Italian). Friendly greetings abound as you enter the warm human-scale room that looks out on a garden. There's a convivial buzz in the room but it never gets so loud that you can't hear your table mates. The waiters are old school, that is, elegantly attired, very professional, and yet friendly. Our main waiter was clearly from the old country. As for the food, crusty Italian bread and breadsticks arrived along with butter, olive oil and pate. Nice. We all had different starters. Since it was soupy outside, I had the soup du jour, a creamy mushroom soup with truffle oil. Lovely. Others had the artichoke salad, caesar salad and La Grotta salad -- all good. We all had different entrees too: salmon, chicken and two different veal scaloppine dishes. All plates were wiped clean by the time our waiters came to clear the table. Portions are not huge but not small either. Just right. Our only quibble was the veal -- it could have been more tender. We shared two desserts (berries and cheesecake) that were beautifully plated. There is no pressure to move you along so that the next party can be seated. Service is correct and efficient. After so many years, La Grotta knows their clientele and how to keep them happy and coming back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for 30 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We first went to La Grotta almost 30 years ago for our anniversary and have returned time and again over the years. Last night was our latest visit, and I'm pleased to say that it is still a delicious and elegant dining experience. The menu is traditional Northern Italian, but with modern American twists. The service is elegant and professional, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and the food is excellent. Although this is not inexpensive, it is excellent value for quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Grotta Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.