We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere; good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Giverny Bistro - CLOSED

Le Giverny Bistro
1641 Clifton Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30329-4017
404-325-7252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Le Giverny Bistro is located on Clifton Road, which is served by Emory University's Cliff shuttle service. For schedules, please visit the Emory Transportation and Parking service site at http://transportation.emory.edu/transportation/cliff/index.html
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere; good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had the roasted beet & granny smith apple salad sans the crumbled bleu cheese, which was fresh and different than the usual fare. I also had the fondant de brie au miel et menthe,
warm baked brie, local honey, fresh mint, and grilled flat bread. If you are a lacto-ovo vegetarian, this is basically what you can eat here. It was plenty. My son had the hanger steak, which he thought was not a very good cut and not very flavorful. We shared the pecan tart, which was tasty but not exceptional. The atmosphere was cozy and fairly quite. There was a guitarist/vocalist, who played folk hits from the 60s and 70s from the likes of Joni Mitchell, Judy Collins, and The Beatles. It was my favorite part of the evening. We used Open Table to make our reservations. We stayed at the Emory Conference Center; had it not been so chilly, we could easily have walked from the hotel to the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dining pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful plating of perfectly prepared food. Nice variety of dishes with a French flair. Riemme, owner and chief does a wonder job. He has a flair for balancing flavors and blending unique items to excite your pallet.
Lovey ambience, with a special treat of music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.
Service, perfectly paced to your requirement and needs.
Thank you for many delightful evening on dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“One of the most enjoyable places to dine around - Dine here before May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have come here for a few years - a wonderful place for special occassions, and, as it can take considerable time to access the CDC campus, an ideal place for working lunches with those without a "govvie" badge. The setting is semi-formal, but casual enough at lunch. Unformly excellent food, reasonably-priced (would say 2.5 $ signs if it was an option). Staff is excellent. Our most pleasant server was Heather, but we've never had a rude, or even mediocre server. Remy Kerba, the proprietor, has been running a tight ship for a long time. It is a shame that he will be closing shop here in May when the building is torn down to create more condos - (Hmm, doesn't Atlanta have an excess of housing?), so come here and enjoy it while you can. The entrees, appetizers, and desserts are excellent. Most recently had a perfect soup of tomato bisque and salmon. Typically get their trout (see the web site) which has always been first rate. Have not been nearly as impressed with the wines (others in the family drink wine, though I do not, so am depending on their perspective), but champagne rated fine. Personal preference is to come here during the week. They do have a special dinner for Valentine's Day which attended last year, but like to come here when it is less crowded. Do check out their website. Bernie K. sings here a couple of nights a week, and does some fabulous French songs, covering Edith Piaf and others. It is another reason we enjoy coming here. Free parking.
Please advise if you find this review helpful. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, Traditional and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When you combine very good traditional french cuisine with moderate prices, comfortable seating and a quiet ambiance, you have a perfect neighborhood bistro. For those at the CDC and Emory, it is no secret where to go for a business lunch or dinner. For those of us who live in the neighborhood of Druid Hills, it has long been a favorite. As Emory Point development restaurants come on line, I will always list Le Giverny as my favorite. Some favorite dishes are the brie in honey with flatbread, apple beet salad, Steak Frites, and fresh trout with capers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was great and staff attentive at this fantastic French bistro on the grounds of the Emory Conference Center and Inn

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Giverny Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Giverny Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.