We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hsu's Gourmet

Hsu's Gourmet
192 Peachtree Center Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)
(404) 659-2788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 3,422 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $21 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

excellent and plentiful shrimp dish and the spicy beef also very good. Decor upmarket, service a bit iffy but overall definetly a good chinese experiene

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    33
    33
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner here with my family. Not a place for kids really but the food was excellent. Would eat here again!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CHINESE CUISINE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Atlanta for business several times a year. I always look forward to dining at Hsu's. The walnut shrimp is DELICIOUS! The restaurant is very clean and has a nice atmosphere. The staff are friendly and take very good care of you. The owner has been present every time I have dined there and personally I think that ensures better service. Hsu's is located downtown and is in a very safe location.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere Chinese.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Enjoyed a nice dinner at Hsu's, taking advantage of it being very close to the downtown hotels where a friend was staying. Took advantage of the $5 evening parking at Courtland Street Parking garage that is a stone's throw from the Hilton, considerably less than the Hilton's parking rates and those of many others in the neighborhood.
After an appetizer of quite tasty steamed vegetable dumplings, I had the avocado shrimp, while others had different dishes, including string beans with shrimp, - Szechuan style. My dish was good, though not remarkable, and the modest amount of avocado didn't add to the taste, needing a a bit more spice. Preferred the Szechuan dish.
Portions were generous, with a small side dish of white rice.
The service was very good and the atmosphere is quite pleasant. No outdoor seating. Another reviewer described it as higher end Chinese, and that is a good description.
Please do note if you find this review helpful to you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Omg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The BEST! We stumbled on Hsu's and didn't realize it was rather famous. Servers were fun and great. The food was amazing and I wish we had a place like this at home.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hsu's Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Hsu's Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hsu's Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.