We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agave

Agave
242 Boulevard SE, Atlanta, GA 30312
+1 404-588-0006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 3,314 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my meal here and the portions were quite generous. The drinks and margaritas were also great. Generous pours as well! Staff were super friendly! I will come back again, though a little loud for a business dinner setting (which was the reason for my visit)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    84
    23
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the meatloaf, shrimp and crawfish pasta. All good. Love this place. Great margarita. This is our go to restaurant .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go for the event meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went with another couple for a tequila event supper. We were greeted at the door with a house margarita - woo hoo! Then escorted into the dining room where everyone sits family style as staff brings 'round one course at a time with its own special margarita. The margaritas for this were progressively better and, certainly, more potent. Dessert was served with a snifter of top shelf tequila that none of us were able to consume, it was just too much, but what a fabulous meal! The scallop ceviche starter was the highlight (for us).

The restaurant is located in the part of Atlanta known as Cabbage Town, which can seem sketchy, but it's worth the visit - not just for Agave but for other restaurants and bars as well (Krog Bar, Carroll Street Cafe, Village Pizza are some favorites).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inviting Atmosphere, Great Food, Great Margaritas!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our son took us here before the Atlanta Braves game on July 4, 2013.
The staff was extremely friendly and inviting.
The decor looks like you are in a SouthWest Pueblo.
Our waiter was knowledgeable about all the items on the menu and all the different Margaritas we could order.
Food was delicious; more upscale than your typical Mexican restaurant food.
I would not take children.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The atmosphere was very good. It was a little too dark inside for me though because I like to see what I'm ordering and eating but the restaurant is a good choice. I enjoyed my food. I had the Cajun Fried chicken breast meal. It wasn't bad but I've had better. The Mac and cheese honestly tasted like Velveeta out the box but it wasn't bad. The collard greens was different. They were honey cider which was interesting. My food was just ok. I would go back though and maybe try the fish or something else. I just figured I couldn't go wrong with chicken which is why I selected it. Overall it was a nice experience and our waiter Antonio was awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave also viewed

 

Been to Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.