We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nikolai's Roof

Nikolai's Roof
255 Courtland St NE, Hilton Atlanta, Atlanta, GA 30303
+1 404-221-6362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nikolai's Roof is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #138 of 3,465 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Russian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John Portman Blvd.
Transit: MARTA - Peachtree Station
Description: High above the city on the 30th floor of the Hilton Atlanta, Nikolai's Roof has delighted guests since 1976 with its stunning views of the city skyline, masterfully prepared cuisine, impeccable service and award-winning wine list.
Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Food is superb. Service is above board. Can't say enough about Nikolai's Roof. Celebrated our anniversary there for the second time. Definitely the place to go. Nothing compares.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“American-Russian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This is actually the only place where serve foie gras that I know in Atlanta area. If you want to invite your fiancee for some ocassion this is the very place to go. In the menu you will find american-european-russian food. Even though it's called russian restaurant, only few elements would remind you of Russia.
Personaly, I'd give them a visit only at some occasions even though there's a nice panoramic view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most overpriced restaurant in Atlanta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great 30th floor view, nice and romantic.
No rsvp as its always empty and will always be.
Easily impressionable tourists will go and nobody else.
Very expensive. The food ranged from below average to horrible. I had the rack of lamp (4 lamp chops) and it tasted as it was cooked the day before and boiled.
Not very warm either, tough. Very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service, Fantastic Meal and The View!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining here last November.I'm not sure how many courses there were but 2.5 hrs later we left with smiles on our faces. The standouts on the menu were the piroshki, the beef dish which was so tender you could cut it with a butter knife and the cheese selection. I wish that I could have enjoyed the cheese more, but I was so full by the time it was served. I loved the fanfare of the waiters and the elegance of the restaurant. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant where the food is outstanding and memorable. There was a gorgeous full moon and it lit up the the night sky.. Nikolai's Roof is more than a meal, it's an experience!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just the two of us, she ordered four appetizers, cheese platter, chicken liver, borscht and the little Russian meat pastries the name of which I cannot spell. I had a salad and rack of lamb entree. We shared and agreed that everything was exceptionally delicious and graciously served. You could go all over the world and not find many places to delight the palate more. Of course it's expensive and if you don't know good food don't go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Nikolai's Roof, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi - Thank you so much for the kind words. We appreciate you reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikolai's Roof also viewed

 

Been to Nikolai's Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikolai's Roof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.