We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like 3 1/2 Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zocalo

Zocalo
187 10th Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30306 (Midtown)
(404) 249-7576
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #690 of 3,440 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 10th Street and Piedmont
East of it All
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More like 3 1/2 Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband ate here after walking the neighborhood and thought this would be a good place to check out. The food was good and we did enjoy the chicken fajitas. They don't give you much to work with but the chicken was fresh.

They lost a couple of points due to the staff dumping water from a nearby table on us with no apology. What saved them from us walking out was the fact that our server was standing there and was equally offended. She said something but they ignored her. In the middle of taking our order, she left for a good five minutes. Not sure why she did this but it was strange. Mojito was weak, tasted like a lot of mint. The queso dip was delicious, though! All in all, not a bad meal and most likely would eat there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Norcross
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun authentic mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Night before July 4th was rainy, so outdoor seating was nice and cool albeit a bit packed. Guacamole made at the table was delicious and cream of poblano soup excellent and perfect for a rainy night. Now a traditional for pre-race meal the before Peachtree Road Race!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Loved this rustic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We are staying closeby and this was recommended to us. There is indoor and outdoor seating and the staff were excellent. The drinks are mainly cocktails or beer and there is just one bottle of red and one white on the menu. However the white was very good and reasonable. Our chicken fajitas were exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best faux Mexican I've had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon this place while taking a walk from our hotel. It was a blissful evening of about 70 and they had outdoor seating which was more than welcomed after sitting inside in a conference all day. The margaritas were tasty but my hureche meal made of masa flour, mushrooms and blank bean dip was mouth watering. Since I am not supposed to eat wheat it was a much welcomed different meal that does not include corn torts or rice.
Ended up eating there twice in our few days of staying in town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great food and so much fun! Really good for a big party and dinner with children. Authentic Mexican food with Guacamole made at the table and amazing margaritas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VBATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zocalo also viewed

 

Been to Zocalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing