We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda Latina

La Fonda Latina
923 Ponce De Leon Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-4211 (Poncey-Highland)
(404) 607-0665
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #832 of 3,425 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Poncey-Highland
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went here with some girlfriends last weekend and fell in love. I wasn't expecting to like it, but I did. Nice casual vibe and nice waitstaff. I ordered the beans and rice and maduros. The beans and rice were wonderful, but the maduros were burnt. The prices on the menu was really good and had nice serving sizes. My friends got the paella and it looked wonderful. The desserts were to die for - had churros and they were excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    16
    18
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Mexican with strong ritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This is pretty much average Mexican but the margaritas are delicious. The value is fine but this place gets pretty packed often.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Artichoke & Spinach Dip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really good Latin fare. I like the warm Artichoke Dip which is served with large chunks of tender artichoke and flavored perfectly. Order the bowl-sized for sharing at the table. The sodas are served from an ice-cold can with a glass and straw.

There is a large selection of Latin pressed sandwiches, Quesadillas, Paella, Mexican favorites, burritos, enchiladas, and tacos.

The staff is very friendly, and the place is clean. In the warmer months, check out the seating on the rooftop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I don't know Spanish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

And the server didn't know English. This was a problem. The food was ok, not incredible, but really reasonably priced. I doubt I would go again, but this wasn't a disaster. The pizza place next door looked more interesting

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Misleading menu, charged for unordered items.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The food here is decent, and the balcony is great in nice weather, but I just had chips and queso and guac (at an off-meal hour), and was charged extra for the chips. Three dollars extra. The manager kept pointing to the part of the menu where it says that chips and salsa are extra if you don't order a meal. I told him that they were brought to me automatically when I sat down and that I hadn't ordered them. He finally-- angrily-- adjusted my ticket by taking off seventy-five cents for salsa, still charging three dollars for chips. I asked him how people typically eat cheese dip without chips and he just pointed again at the menu. The restaurant had several empty tables when I was there; I wasn't taking up a spot that could go to a dinner patron. And I feel completely robbed. Cheese dip comes with chips. Otherwise what's the point? He doubled the price of what was on the menu. And was really mad when I questioned him about it.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fonda Latina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda Latina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.