We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tavola

La Tavola
992 Virginia Ave, Atlanta, GA 30306-3669
404-873-5430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tavola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,424 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Highland Avenue
Description: La Tavola is a classic, cozy Italian trattoria located in Atlanta's famous Virginia Highland neighborhood featuring exposed brick, dark wood floors, rustic colors and an open exhibition kitchen. The restaurant features an extensive wine list, classic dishes made from the finest traditional ingredients and approachable, friendly service. Perfect for family gatherings, romantic dinners or just a quick, yet satisfying, bite at the bar, here you will always feel welcomed and at home around our table.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is by far one of mine and my husband's favorite restaurants. We absolutely love coming to La Tavola! The squid ink linguini is one of my all time favorites! He loves the wild boar, and we both love the mushroom ragu. We have never had anything that wasn't absolutely amazing at this place! The restaurant is small but the food and service make up for it by far! Hate to spread the word about this place since its so hard to get into already! We LOVE this place and visit frequently!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    63
    20
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

In the winter their menu has delicious comfort foods while the summer menu offers fresh and light-tasting options. If you enjoy risotto, make sure to try it at La Tavola. You won't be disappointed. The service is also top notch--I always end up thoroughly enjoying the servers. Try to get a seat on the back patio for the best atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Very small, efficiant service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The space is tight, the service is efficient, and the food in very good. The menu has enough choices but is not excessive, like many places. They have done a good job of offering consistently good food and service for many years. There is a complimentary valet lot across the street; get the ticket stamped before you leave.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place with great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Concierge at the Four Season recommended this restaurant as a small authentic Italian establishment. The food was great and the service was perfect. My wife had the Caesar salad and lasagna. I had the olive plate and cioppino, food was fantastic. We had a bottle of Slingshot Cabernet which I highly recommend. For desert tiramisu. This place is small so it might be a little loud but the food and service are worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Anniversary Restaurant - Food Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Not being from this area, I wanted a nice, romantic, Italian restaurant. Based on the recommendations at TripAdvisor I chose LaTavola and was not disappointed. We ate inside. It was a little noisy but since we had a booth it was tolerable. But the service and food made it excellent. We had the Grilled Calamari for an appetizer along with two glasses of wine. I then had the Pasta Special (Orcchiette) and my partner had the Squid Ink Linguine. Since it was our anniversary they brought complementary dessert sampler with two wonderful pieces of cake. We topped it off with some after dinner dessert drinks and coffee. The entire bill plus service was just shy of $100. The tables are close together and so noise is a problem, but overall it was an excellent dining experience. I think they have an outside seating area but I think it overlooks a parking lot, so...not so romantic out there. Make sure you make reservations! You might not get a table if you don't.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavola also viewed

 

Been to La Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.