We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tavola

La Tavola
992 Virginia Ave, Atlanta, GA 30306-3669
404-873-5430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tavola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 3,540 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Highland Avenue
Description: La Tavola is a classic, cozy Italian trattoria located in Atlanta's famous Virginia Highland neighborhood featuring exposed brick, dark wood floors, rustic colors and an open exhibition kitchen. The restaurant features an extensive wine list, classic dishes made from the finest traditional ingredients and approachable, friendly service. Perfect for family gatherings, romantic dinners or just a quick, yet satisfying, bite at the bar, here you will always feel welcomed and at home around our table.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'm an Italian food nut. I love the authentic places, as well as the cheesy old-school red and white checkered tablecloth places. La Tavola is my favorite in Atlanta. I come in once a month or so. EVERY time it's outstanding. Can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    38
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We read many great reviews that led us to try it out but unfortunately, after eating here, not sure what all the hype is about. The space is small, which sometimes makes a place cozy, but here it seemed to interfere with the service and detracted from the experience. The portions were all small and we actually left hungry despite spending quite a bit. The quality of food was also below our expectations. The seafood was so small! Wanted to like it, but the truth is you can find much better food out there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We ate last night at La Tavola. From the moment we walked in the door we fell in love.

It's a small place, which for us was a plus. The noise level was quite acceptable even though the place was full.

The wine list is wonderful..they had some wines that I hadn't seen outside of Italy. The prices were very reasonable.

The menu is creative and solid. We had a great calamari dish...pork belly ravioli...steak perfectly done...great dessert. Can't say enough about the food.

The service is warm and friendly and the pacing was perfect. Just the mark of a real professional staff. As a sort of indication, when we tried to order an antipasto dish that was on the web site menu, we were told that it was no longer a menu item. That didn't bother us at all..there are plenty of other great choices. The manager came to our table immediately and apologized profusely. This kind of thing is impressive to us. They provided our desserts on the house because it was our anniversary..a lot of places do that, I guess, but these desserts...man.

Have to insert here that there isn't a realistic alternative to the valet parking across the street. Complimentary except for the tip, of course. Courteous and very fast.

I have never, that I remember, given the full 5 rating. This place, in my opinion, deserves it. If one wants an Italian meal that is way out of the ordinary, served in nice surroundings by a wonderful staff, this is the place for you. We loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Date night with the 1st. Lady last night and as usual La Tavola did not let us down. Palmer was a great server, she gave us some great wine advice and was spot on. Flat Iron Steak was Perfectly cooked and seasoned just right as well. Laurie had some awesome seafood as well. Simply put we have not had a bad experience here ever. Can't go wrong here from where sit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Popped in here during a visit to Atlanta to see Emory University. The decor was sophisticated-chic, but the atmosphere was casual and fun. I think there was outdoor dining that we missed out on, but sitting inside was fine. The pastas we had were delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavola also viewed

 

Been to La Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.