We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida - CLOSED

Pura Vida
656 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-4533
404-870-9797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Ridge
Transit: MARTA BUS Route 16 "Noble" stops right across the street from Pura Vida. MARTA BUS Route 2 stops at the corner of Ponce de Leon & North Highland, one block from Pura Vida.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I absolutely love this place. I feel upon it about 5 years ago and haven't had the chance to go back until this year. The service is great, the food is amazing and different but not so different that you are afraid to try things. The margaritas are fantastic. Love the uniqueness of the inside of it. It's just a great restaurant all around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    23
    17
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Cornwall
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good but spicy and not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Tapas are not everyone's cup of tea. These are certainly good, and the plates are not too small. The chief problem is the unexpected spiciness of some of the dishes - for example, the tilapia is really good but ours were definitely fiery. The service is excellent. Guide price - our bill including drinks came to $35 a head. The fried almonds are great and we ate all the desserts between us and didn't find a bad one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty large small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pura Vida had the largest servings I've ever had for a Tapas restaurant and, most importantly, they were mostly very good. Some were simple, a bowl of olives or a bowl of toasted almonds, but they tasted great. The shrimp were large (4 - head on) and very tasty. The Tilapia fingers were OK but tasted pretty similar to Captain D fish. The meat plate was excellent and the goat meat empanada was especially tasty.

We enjoyed it very much and plan to eat there again soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Really good, but beware tapas are like sushi...not cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is really good. Love the mussels! They were out of several of the cheese and meat selections, but what we had was good. We did really have a feast or gorge, so spending right at $100 for a casual, light dinner was a little steep. The atmosphere is quaint, but I don't think it is super hip .... warranting the price tag.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Tapas in Atlanta for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Been to noche many time and loca luna and they are fine and do offer other things (noche=location, ll = live music), but when it comes to the quality of the food it's not a contest. We had the mussels, baked goat empanadas, pork belly buns, and a cheese plate with a guava sauce and can honestly say I not remember having a better meal. There were also 6-7 other items we wanted to order, but knew we could not eat. The wine list was a little short, but we had three different types of white wine, each from Spain, and all three were fantastic and well suited for eating tapas in the summer.

I should also say I don't really like tapas places all that often, but did here. Portions were better sizes and each meal seems to be prepared more attentively rather than the assembly line of other places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.