We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but spicy and not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida - CLOSED

Pura Vida
656 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-4533
404-870-9797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Ridge
Transit: MARTA BUS Route 16 "Noble" stops right across the street from Pura Vida. MARTA BUS Route 2 stops at the corner of Ponce de Leon & North Highland, one block from Pura Vida.
Truro, Cornwall
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good but spicy and not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Tapas are not everyone's cup of tea. These are certainly good, and the plates are not too small. The chief problem is the unexpected spiciness of some of the dishes - for example, the tilapia is really good but ours were definitely fiery. The service is excellent. Guide price - our bill including drinks came to $35 a head. The fried almonds are great and we ate all the desserts between us and didn't find a bad one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty large small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pura Vida had the largest servings I've ever had for a Tapas restaurant and, most importantly, they were mostly very good. Some were simple, a bowl of olives or a bowl of toasted almonds, but they tasted great. The shrimp were large (4 - head on) and very tasty. The Tilapia fingers were OK but tasted pretty similar to Captain D fish. The meat plate was excellent and the goat meat empanada was especially tasty.

We enjoyed it very much and plan to eat there again soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Really good, but beware tapas are like sushi...not cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is really good. Love the mussels! They were out of several of the cheese and meat selections, but what we had was good. We did really have a feast or gorge, so spending right at $100 for a casual, light dinner was a little steep. The atmosphere is quaint, but I don't think it is super hip .... warranting the price tag.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Tapas in Atlanta for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Been to noche many time and loca luna and they are fine and do offer other things (noche=location, ll = live music), but when it comes to the quality of the food it's not a contest. We had the mussels, baked goat empanadas, pork belly buns, and a cheese plate with a guava sauce and can honestly say I not remember having a better meal. There were also 6-7 other items we wanted to order, but knew we could not eat. The wine list was a little short, but we had three different types of white wine, each from Spain, and all three were fantastic and well suited for eating tapas in the summer.

I should also say I don't really like tapas places all that often, but did here. Portions were better sizes and each meal seems to be prepared more attentively rather than the assembly line of other places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Killer Cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

First of all they make the most AMAZING cocktails with such care. Then, the food is absolutely perfect! The bartender suggested we not miss the zucchini noodles with cilantro and chili peppers was one of the best things we've ever eaten. Whatever they're serving up as specials, order, because they're all fresh and delish! They are truly doing something special at this lovely little restaurant and bar.

LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.