We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but spicy and not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida - CLOSED

Pura Vida
656 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-4533
404-870-9797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Ridge
Transit: MARTA BUS Route 16 "Noble" stops right across the street from Pura Vida. MARTA BUS Route 2 stops at the corner of Ponce de Leon & North Highland, one block from Pura Vida.
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but spicy and not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Tapas are not everyone's cup of tea. These are certainly good, and the plates are not too small. The chief problem is the unexpected spiciness of some of the dishes - for example, the tilapia is really good but ours were definitely fiery. The service is excellent. Guide price - our bill including drinks came to $35 a head. The fried almonds are great and we ate all the desserts between us and didn't find a bad one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrinklyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty large small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pura Vida had the largest servings I've ever had for a Tapas restaurant and, most importantly, they were mostly very good. Some were simple, a bowl of olives or a bowl of toasted almonds, but they tasted great. The shrimp were large (4 - head on) and very tasty. The Tilapia fingers were OK but tasted pretty similar to Captain D fish. The meat plate was excellent and the goat meat empanada was especially tasty.

We enjoyed it very much and plan to eat there again soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really good, but beware tapas are like sushi...not cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is really good. Love the mussels! They were out of several of the cheese and meat selections, but what we had was good. We did really have a feast or gorge, so spending right at $100 for a casual, light dinner was a little steep. The atmosphere is quaint, but I don't think it is super hip .... warranting the price tag.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennATl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tapas in Atlanta for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Been to noche many time and loca luna and they are fine and do offer other things (noche=location, ll = live music), but when it comes to the quality of the food it's not a contest. We had the mussels, baked goat empanadas, pork belly buns, and a cheese plate with a guava sauce and can honestly say I not remember having a better meal. There were also 6-7 other items we wanted to order, but knew we could not eat. The wine list was a little short, but we had three different types of white wine, each from Spain, and all three were fantastic and well suited for eating tapas in the summer.

I should also say I don't really like tapas places all that often, but did here. Portions were better sizes and each meal seems to be prepared more attentively rather than the assembly line of other places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Killer Cocktails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

First of all they make the most AMAZING cocktails with such care. Then, the food is absolutely perfect! The bartender suggested we not miss the zucchini noodles with cilantro and chili peppers was one of the best things we've ever eaten. Whatever they're serving up as specials, order, because they're all fresh and delish! They are truly doing something special at this lovely little restaurant and bar.

LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalLove247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing