We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not excellent dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wisteria

Wisteria
471 N Highland Ave, Atlanta, GA 30307 (Inman Park)
(404) 525-3363
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wisteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 3,274 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Inman Park
Cross street: Colquitt
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Following reviews here on TripAdvisor, I finally managed to visit highly touted Wisteria. I would highly recommend to make a reservation in advance, the place was absolutely packed. We were there a few minutes early and were seated at the bar in this relatively small restaurant. Unfortunately, the promised 10 minutes turned out to be closer to 20 which was not a big problem considering the quality of wine we were served.

The food was, overall, very good but not outstanding. Service was excellent from the first second to the last (outside of the waiting time). The restaurant is very nice and has a homey feel and is perfect for the colder months. Due to its size, it is not a very intimate experience but I would still recommend the restaurant for business partners and couples alike.

We had two starters, two entrees, and a dessert. Four out of those six dishes were excellent, the rest mediocre at best. The lamb shank was served with outstanding sides but the meat was on the stronger tasting side; for people who prefer very young and mild lambs, this was too much. The fried chicken was good but definitely too soggy and not as well paired with sides as the lamb shank was. All dishes were beautifully presented and very appealing but entrees left us slightly disappointed. The highlight of the visit was an absolutely delightful dessert paired with great wines. A local cheese sampler was of outstanding quality and the staff was extremely knowledgeable about the origin of the great products.

All in all, Wisteria was a very pleasant dining experience that not fully lived up to the high ratings. Don't get me wrong, the restaurant is a good choice for a wide range of occasions and we felt like everything was worth its price. However, and that is a problem of many restaurants in the Atlanta area, it does not offer the quality of many top restaurants in other parts of the country. For people who have been to top-rated restaurants in many different US states (and abroad), Wisteria will probably not crack the top lists. For the area, however, Wisteria is a very very good address and will only disappoint if you come on with extreme expectations (like we did, unfortunately). 4/5.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    42
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

You know you are heading towards a disappointing dining experience when the wait staff cannot remember all the ingredients in the specials. My wife ordered the trout with all sorts of ingredients and when it arrived it was fishy. I ordered the molasses rubbed pork tenderloin with sweet potato soufflé. When it arrived it had so many ingredients I could not see the pork. It did taste good but was over complicated! We will not return!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The reviews don't lie, this place is a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We followed the advice of fellow TA's and tried this place while we were in town for a long weekend. Once again thanks for finding and posting about this wonderful little spot.
We sat at the bar and had a drink before dinner, great selection of craft cocktails and wine by the glass. For an app, and don't tell anyone from my home state of MD, we both tried their bra cakes and they were amazing. Normally we lose our drivers license for liking anything but Maryland cakes but these might be worth it!! For dinner I had the Catfish and my wife had the shrimp and grits. My catfish was good but her meal was fantastic. Service and atmosphere were excellent, we will be back next time we are in town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Flawless, Outstanding Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been to a lot of nice places all over the world, and we have many memorable experiences. Every once in a while, however, we come across a meal that is just flawless. Our Saturday night dinner at Wisteria was one of those nights. Our server seemed genuinely happy to be there. He took the time to get to know us and make great dinner recommendations. We started with the black eyed pea hummus with sweet potato chips that was both unique and outstanding. We shared two salads - Georgia peach and arugula and apple. I'm glad we ordered both of them because choosing would have been tough. They are both excellent. We all had something different for dinner - veal and beef meatballs, molasses rubbed pork tenderloin and Georgia mountain trout. Portions were perfect - plenty to eat but you don't feel like you pulled up to a feeding trough. Everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection. While the food was perfect, the service and atmosphere were even better. Although we were there on Saturday night, it had a nice low, key vibe, and nobody was pushing us to hurry up to clear the table for the next guest. We had reservations (which are definitely required), and the table was ready and waiting for us. One of the best choices ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great Food but Service is much to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went to this restaurant since the reviews were so good. We arrived at 5:30pm and were the only people in the restaurant for at least 45mins and only one other couple was there when we left at 6:30. The food was excellent but the waitress we had seemed to ticked off that we did not order drinks, appetizer, or a salad. She kept asking if we wanted anything else and we kept saying no. My husband and I will often share a dish because we simply can not eat that much. As it was we took half of one dish and a side we ordered home. We did order desert and when it came we were confused because one of the items that we wanted was not there. However the waitress disappeared and when she came back we asked her about it and she got all matter of fact that this is what I heard and it is clearly different from what you wanted.. when we got ice cream and what we wanted was something that came with ice cream. A good waitress would have brought what we asked for and what my husband pointed to when he ordered. So I hope you have a better experience than we did.. but the food is excellent but not sure we will go back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisteria also viewed

 

Been to Wisteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.