We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papi Cuban & Caribbean Grill

Papi Cuban & Caribbean Grill
216 Ponce de Leon Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)
404-607-1525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 3,425 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $1 - $20
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dinner with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stopped by for dinner while visiting relatives in Atlanta area. Food was very good and plentiful. Waiter was able to explain menu items and made recommendations we enjoyed. Decor is plain and reminded me of similar cuban restaurants in the Tampa FL area. Enjoyed the black beans and yellow rice with a traditional cuban sandwich. Others in our party enjoyed the Cuban milkshakes and plaintains.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    35
    21
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good cubans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I haven't tried anything else on their menu, but they have pretty good and reasonably priced cubans. I've been on a cuban fix recently, and they certainly beat my home made version. If you are looking for a good, somewhat authentic cuban, you won't find better in ATl.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK for a change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was good and very Carribean. I had one of the house specialties; the food was tasty, plentiful and hot. The restaurant facilities need some work; ventilation, paint, cleanliness, etc. Next time I'll get my food to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The ropa vieja special is great especially with the sweet plantains and yellow rice with beans. Mojitos are really good, try to get a table near the front or along the side, the rooms closer to the bathrooms aren't very desirable. If you're in a hurry, get take out from the ponce entrance-super speedy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cuban Cuisine Extraordinare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Papis on the recommendation of our daughter. She said it was delicious and how right she was! We had Cuban milkshakes, fish wraps, black beans and rice, and plaintains. The cuban sandwiches are wonderful! Everything was really delicious. Finished with the mango pie. Oh my! We will be back. The plaintains were the best I have ever had. Excellent service and a lively atmosphere. We were very surprised at the prices. It was very reasonable with generous portions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papi Cuban & Caribbean Grill also viewed

Atlanta, GA
Atlanta, GA
 

Been to Papi Cuban & Caribbean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papi Cuban & Caribbean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.