We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm an Optimist about Lure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lure

Lure
1106 Crescent Avenue NE, Atlanta, GA 30309
404-817-3650
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lure is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 3,273 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Take MARTA to the Midtown station and walk 2 blocks north on Crescent Avenue.
Description: Welcome to Lure — a contemporary Atlanta fish house serving only the freshest ingredients delivered daily.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I'm an Optimist about Lure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fifth Group has great Atlanta restaurants, but Lure is outstanding! We are serious seafood snobs, but Lure wowed us! Very cool, open, trendy atmosphere that leans casual. The smoked seafood appetizer platter was such a fresh twist on classics, especially the scallops. My sauteed sole was perfection. One of Atlanta's most solid but innovative seafood houses has every reason to be an "optimist" about its future outlook and should pull ahead of other recent additions to the creative culinary scene in Atlanta! And the service was reliably excellent like other Fifth Group restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    53
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wanted to Like it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am a big fan of the Fifth Group restaurants and was really looking forward to dinner at Lure. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations and to me is the weakest link in this group of restaurants.

We were seated outside which was heated by various space heaters. Had to wear my coat during dinner to stay warm, while other tables complained of being too hot.

We tried several appetizers: the oyster sliders (average), the skate (no flavor whatsoever) and the octopus & pork lettuce wraps. The lettuce wraps were the best of the three, but I think the octopus at Kyma is by far the best in Atlanta. No contest. We thought about ordering an entree to share but figured if the appetizers were average, surely the entrees were as well, so we got the check and headed home.

If you're looking for great seafood in Atlanta go to The Optimist or Kyma. Best in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The cuisine here is a little different from the norm which is why we enjoyed it. Our server was very knowledgeable about the food and beverages. Great experience & walking distance to our hotel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Loud but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wife and I dined on a Wednesday evening and despite traffic problems getting there the restaurant held our reservation for 20 minutes and they were busy. The dining room is large, high ceilinged and full of hard surfaces glass and concrete that relfect the noise of large parties. The service was good and the grilled swordfish with spinach and calamari from New England were excellent. The wine list is extensive but limited by the glass. Plenty of beers and cocktail choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Feels like Maine Seattle by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As you walk in you feel as if you have left Atlanta. The lighting and mood is just right and the menus compliment the restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.