We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Spring St. NW, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Enjoy the Summer
Ranked #7 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Graz, Austria
1 review
“Nice conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a conference for one week. It was a nice place to stay for such a long time. The rooms are nice and have a good size. The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful, we asked them a lot about going to some place and they had good tips. The lobby of the hotel was also a nice place to spend some time and to meet with people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    148
    30
    17
    7
See reviews for
91
55
29
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding group. The hotel's reservation management system is a mess. They did not place us in the room we reserved & did very little to correct the situation. While friendly the hotel staff seemed inept & disconnected with resolving our issue. As an event planner, I don't see the potential for bringing any groups to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATechHotel, Director of Sales at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I'm sorry that you did not have a positive experience with us during your stay. I am not aware of the details of your particular situation however, we host multiple wedding groups throughout the year and our reservations department does their best to accommodate all special requests. As this is not a common occurrence, please reconsider using us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Recently I attended a conference at the Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center. The conference facilities were above average and were comparable to several other University based hotel and conference centers that I have been to. The facility appears to be relatively new and is well maintained. The room was well appointed and also well maintained. The bed was somewhat hard but not so it affected my sleep. Everything in the room was in good working order, the a/c kept the temperature comfortable, and there were plenty of electrical outlets for charging electronics. The complimentary wifi was appreciated. The staff were generally helpful though the front desk could stand some friendliness lessons. The conference center staff were excellent. The area around the hotel has some nice cafes and sandwich shops as well as a Barnes and Nobel across the street. Overall this is a very nice place for a seminar and the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel is located on midtown which is the place to be. Avoid downtown.
Nothing much to see nearby but at least not so much homeless people askin' for cigs and money.

Hotel is absolutely the best I've ever been. Rooms were huge, modern, very clean and basically everything you could possible need.
Receptionists were friendly and helpful. They suggested us places to eat, shop and so on.
Laundry machines are complimentary as well as gym and pool.

Can't think anyhing to complain about.
Could easily go there again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center was the site for the International Symposium on Mixed and Augmented Reality (ISMAR) 2012. As general chair for the conference, I worked closely to make this conference happen for more than 300 scholars and students who came together for four days of workshops, tutorials, demonstrations, and scholarly work. The GT Hotel impressed participants with the variety and quality of food in the hotel dining room, the continuous breaks in the conference area and the location in Midtown Atlanta. Some attendees said it was the best academic conference venue they've ever experienced, and the 2013 conference chair commented that our hosting of the conference will be a hard act to follow. Thanks to the staff and management for making this event as easy to run as they could, and making a lasting impression on the attendees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have responsibility for a two-day conference of ~275 people we just finished at the hotel & conference center. Our audience includes 75% fly-in participation from all over the USA. Hurricane Sandy was primed to make it a logistical disaster, potentially affecting conferees from 17 states. We lost about 20 participants, our opening keynote, and five other speakers as airports closed in the mid-Atlantic region. Many in attendance were worried to distraction about flights out or the safety of their families or condition of their homes and communities. As a result, the event could have been a minor disaster for our nonprofit.

Instead the experience was a tremendous success -- and much of that credit goes to the extremely professional and empathetic team at the hotel & conference center. Warren and his entire banquet team didn't even bat an eye with all of the last minute revisions we made to room sets, reception and exhibit areas.

Candace and her A/V team at SWANK handled everything I threw at her to quickly Skype in the keynote, and conference call many of the other speakers. The A/V order could have been a mess, but she took it all in stride and made everything -- literally everything -- go flawlessly.

How all of the team -- from the reception/registration desk to banquets, A/V, the housecleaning staff Getting both the exacting attention to delivering quality you want from a conference center staff yet remaining warmly, friendly human beings in light of the fluidity of our situation is greatly admired and astonishingly humbling. I don't think I managed half of either of those.

Received lots of compliments on the food and well appointed & comfortable guest rooms from our fly-in participants. Two vegetarians on the great array of options at the lunch buffet: "this is the best conference food ever." Room service: "ridiculously inexpensive" for the same great menu.

Lots of variety of restaurants in walking distance or short cab (when raining), Easy MARTA (rail) service to/from airport. GA Tech vibe throughout. All in all, an excellently run property in a convenient location with two great products: conference/event and hotel.

If we didn't have to move our conference around the country each year, we'd be back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATechHotel, Director of Sales at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for such a positive and detailed review of your experience with us! We have shared your great feedback with all of the operational departments, especially acknowledging our banquet and AV departments. We look forward to working with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed at the GA Tech hotel for three different occasions in the past and never had a complaint until this last visit 10-24-12, room 411. As I normally do every time at the end of the day while I am on travel, I leave my loose change on the dresser until I am ready to leave the hotel. This time was different. After two days in the hotel and a couple of dollars later, I return to my room and all of my change was gone. It is not the money. It is the principle of that my personal property had been stolen from me. What else is the cleaning staffing service going through when I am not in the room?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATechHotel, Director of Sales at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that this most recent stay was not at the level you have experienced with us in the past. This is not a common occurrence here and our Director of Operations is looking into it and will address as necessary. We hope you will return the next time you are visiting Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 800 Spring St. NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#23 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the vibrant streets of Midtown Atlanta and the Georgia Tech campus, our innovative hotel offers modern accommodations for high-energy business and leisure travelers who demand the luxuries of home and office. Designed for maximum comfort and capability, our 252 newly renovated guest rooms deliver a refreshing mix of urban flair and innovative technology that inspire creativity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Tech Hotel Atlanta
Georgia Tech Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.