We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Spring St. NW, Atlanta, GA 30308 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Health Club Upgrade
Ranked #17 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had always wanted to stay at the Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, so with our daughter's upcoming graduation we thought it would be a perfect choice, and quite convenient! The location is great, but other than that we were quite disappointed!
Once we checked in to our room (that seemed clean) we realized we only had one bar of soap and were missing many toiletries. But when we went to use the hand towels there was hair on not one but three of the hand towels. Since we had reported this, the manager said he has taken $30.00 off our bill! Although thankful, we were hoping to know that the hotel was making sure this wouldn't be happening again. Heading upstairs, our key wouldn't work, so we had to go back down and get a new one reissued! The worst part of our stay was on our final day (Sunday morning) when in the early hours of the morning our bedroom door was being opened, and since we had the latch on no one was able to enter. We promptly reported this to the front desk. They were surprised to hear that, and called a security personnel of the hotel who went to check the lock. They had us write an incident report, and asked us to wait for the security personnel. We waited for a while, but had to leave for the airport. They said someone will contact us soon. No one called! Two days later I called the hotel back to find out what may have happened, and I was transferred to another manager, who had to look into it and call me back. Finally half hour later, I get a call from yet another person who said that they looked into it and that my husband and I were the only ones who used that key! No further explanations, and NO APOLOGIES! I will not stay here again. I have stayed at the Regency Suites and at The Hampton, both of which have been great...and had much friendlier staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATechHotel, Director of Sales at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
First, we sincerely apologize for not delivering the service and responsiveness our customers have come to expect from us. We understand you were here to celebrate a graduation, which makes your negative experiences all the more upsetting to us.
We look forward to being a part of special events like graduations, football weekends etc. and we strive to make our extended GA Tech family feel at home.
Your experience is not a typical one and we hope you will consider giving us another chance the next time you are in Midtown or visiting GA Tech.
Thank you for your detailed comments. Rest assured they will be shared with the hotel staff and used for improving the service we deliver to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    176
    35
    21
    10
See reviews for
104
68
33
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for New Year's Eve last year. The hotel was very nice with many of the team's fans staying here. Rooms were nice, bar was nice, food was good.

They could had more of the bars open in the hotel on game day as most of the people were there for the game. Also after the game there were only 2 people working at the bar and it was slammed, we were temped to leave but there isn't really anywhere to go with in walking distance that late.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GATechHotel, Director of Sales at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about the hotel and our food.
We agree with your staffing observations on New Years. It was a great Chick-fil-A Bowl which may have contributed to us being much busier than expected and much busier than in previous years. We will definitely use your feedback and this year's business levels as a learning for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Viewed previous reviews before starting to write mine and what puzzles me is the hotel is rated 4th out of 197 hotels in Atlanta. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is OK for it's limited services for a pleasure traveler, but 4th? Staff does not volunteer information nor asks if assistance or suggestion are needed and I was not the only one experiencing 'pursue yourself' as I noticed other guests question the staff while waiting for my room.

Overall the hotel is bland and rather outdated. Location is good, accessible to Marta within 3 city blocks, but as I walked from Marta to the hotel on a Friday afternoon, there were barely any people on the streets - saw more policemen than pedestrians - for which it brought up a red flag. I would not recommend a female traveler doing so.

Only had the opportunity to order a BLT at the lounge before closing; service and BLT were good.

Pros: Location, room cleanliness

Green Lodging: You'll need to ask for items as they are not automatically ressuplied.

Cons: Limited service, arrive prepared to ask questions/suggestions as they are not readily volunteered. Noisy (internal & external).

Room Tip: Noisy front rooms - if light sleeper, highly suggest back rooms overlooking conference center area r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Excellent facilities, reasonable price, and helpful staff

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

wonderful reception staff. close to GT and room clean, new and fast wireless.
bed comfortable and quiet

Room Tip: great value for Atlanta
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hi, we had our departmental meeting/retreat at the Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center. The meeting room was wonderful. The package put together for us included everything we needed (AV equipment, lunch, breaks, etc.). The staff were experienced and we had no problems. The conference dining was excellent. Location puts you in midtown Atlanta and parking was easy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

very nice hotel my 4th stay at this hotel centrally located pricing is very reasonable for midtown atlanta 3 stars in my book

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 800 Spring St. NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#23 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the vibrant streets of Midtown Atlanta and the Georgia Tech campus, our innovative hotel offers modern accommodations for high-energy business and leisure travelers who demand the luxuries of home and office. Designed for maximum comfort and capability, our 252 newly renovated guest rooms deliver a refreshing mix of urban flair and innovative technology that inspire creativity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Tech Hotel Atlanta
Georgia Tech Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.