We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative concept, worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Art & Bourbon Bar

Southern Art & Bourbon Bar
3315 Peachtree Rd. N.E, Atlanta, GA 30326
(404) 946-9070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Southern Art & Bourbon Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 3,273 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Piedmont Ave.
Transit: Marta north line: Station N7 Buckhead
Description: Southern Art combines a hip, urban eatery with classic Southern charm, offering Southern-inspired cuisine and cocktails in a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant features an artisan ham bar and vintage dessert table along with the sophisticated bar and lounge area, Bourbon Bar. The menu at Southern Art is a blend of Smith’s Southern cooking heritage, true love for Southern comfort food and strong commitment to serving traditional classics prepared with his light, modern approach. Embracing farm-to-table and regional cooking, Smith encourages diners to celebrate comfort and health. The menu also is reflective of Smith’s own family traditions with roots deep in the South.In keeping with the hallmark of Smith’s acclaimed restaurants, Southern Art strikes the balance between comfortable and sophisticated. A unique collage of artwork is suspended from the ceiling and floats over guests like a cultural cloud. Each piece reflects the diverse imagery of the city itself.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Creative concept, worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is my second time eating at this Buckhead restaurant. Located in the very nice Intercontinental Hotel, the restaurant is a very unique creation of Oprah's former chef Art Smith. The theme is southern country food and bourbon with a twist.They feature many specialty cured hams, which are all yummy and the choices of bourbon drinks would make Harry Carey blush. The service is very good and the atmosphere "casual sophisticated". Hotel valet parking makes the location an easy drop-in on a busy Buckhead weekday night. This visit I tried the chicken and dumpling soup and the aged NY strip steak w mashed sweet potatoes.We were a party of 8, so the restaurant provided a sampler of deserts, which were just "ok", the caramel salt pretzel pie was the clear favorite of our group. Wine list is good, with the Duckhorn Merlot from Sonoma a good value. All in all, a very nice meal

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain Z, General Manager at Southern Art & Bourbon Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello there,
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed everything.
New menu is out and hope you will join us again soon.

Regards,

Alain Zemmour
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    68
    26
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully prepared healthy food - what more can you ask?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Southern Art is an amazing find. The restaurant is located in the InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta Hotel. Usually a hotel restaurant is not my first choice. I looked at the menu posted outside and was intrigued. I was not disappointed. The service was terrific, the menu was expansive, and each meal was better than the one before. I was only at the hotel 2 nights but am tempted to go again just to stop in Southern Art for another delicious meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain Z, General Manager at Southern Art & Bourbon Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi there,
We are very happy you got to enjoy everything at Southern Art.
We hope to see you again soon. We just changed our menu with some very nice additions.
Come check it out!

Best regards,

Alain Zemmour
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pretty unique and exciting!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I stopped by here after having an excellent dinner elsewhere but we also stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel where this bar is located. Service was top notch and this place was hopping for a Thursday night. I decided to try one their specialty bourbons and they didn't disappoint. The person who fixed my bourbon concoction schooled me about bourbon because I don't normally drink bourbon but usually I drink whiskey and scotch. It was pretty neat how he prepared my drink and trust me, they have a plethora of bourbon choices so I asked him to fix me one that was is very popular. It was good and strong, which is the way I like it. LOL! Please stop by here if you're in the area. Great atmosphere and staff!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain Z, General Manager at Southern Art & Bourbon Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for the nice comments! Really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon. New cocktails, new menu....check it out on your next visit
Best regards,

Alain Zemmour
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Swank hotel lounge bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

During a recent trip to Atlanta, I met friends at the Southern Art & Bourbon Bar for drinks. I selected this place because I love Bourbon and it did not disappoint. The flights of bourbon were a really cool way try multiple options on their extensive bourbon list. The live music made it even better.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain Z, General Manager at Southern Art & Bourbon Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi,
We are glad you had a great experience with us and hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Atlanta. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Best regards,

Alain Zemmour
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roswell
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I dined at Southern Art while staying at the Intercontinental Buckhead hotel. Hotel restaurants are not usually good, however this one is excellent! The service was attentive, especially Brandy, who showed true Southern hospitality. Chef Art Smith was on site and he took time to greet all the guests. Give them a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain Z, General Manager at Southern Art & Bourbon Bar, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Susan,
Thank you for your review and I will make sure Brandy reads it as she will be very happy to be mentioned. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Alain Zemmour
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Art & Bourbon Bar also viewed

 

Been to Southern Art & Bourbon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Art & Bourbon Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.