We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Cocina

Alma Cocina
191 Peachtree St. NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
404.968.9662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alma Cocina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 3,425 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: MARTA Peachtree Center
Estero, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved This Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently had lunch with a friend at Alma Cocina. We sat "outside" in the atrium, and the ambience was lovely. Interesting menu, not the same old Mexican food. We shared the salsa & chip sampler, which wasn't to our taste. Too many plantain chips and hardly any corn, and two of the three salsas were almost untouched.
We asked the server for a lighter lunch recommendation, and she told us about the fried avocado taquitas which we both ordered. They were fabulous.
Alma Cocina will remain high on the list of restaurants to return to in Atlanta next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    129
    70
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So nice we went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were visiting Atlanta with our 2 children, (15 and 8 yrs. old). We wanted a place close to the Westin so we tried Alma Cocina, mostly based on other positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and the fact that it was around the corner from our hotel. We were not disappointed! The food and waitstaff were excellent. We all ordered something different, so we had a taste of each others. Everything was so fresh and full of flavor. We were all picking out the next meal we would order, so it was a unanimous vote to return the next night for dinner. We all ordered completely different meals the next night, and again, everything was delicious. I liked the atmosphere of the restaurant too. I would highly recommend this place for a date or eating with kids.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love, Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The interior is warm and inviting. Great service. Ask for Sanford. Spot on. Great shrimp. Very good empanada. Terrific Salsa. The corn on the cob is outstanding. Trust me

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Southern Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Came across from the Ellis hotel not expecting a modern take on Mexican cuisine. Dishes were excellent with just the right heat. Drinks were innovative and tasty. Desserts capped an excellent experience. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoup
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Alma awesome.... Contempary Latin cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a Latino soul kitchen with an inventive contemporary flare on traditional dishes. The wait staff is so informative and knowledgable about the menu. The combination of flavors and presentation is phenomenal. As a admitted foodie, this place sent me over the moon. Just how did they smoke those red grapes in the Gem salad? Pork belly, the white Georgia shrimp in a super buttery smoked chipotle sauce on a corn masa...Everything was spectacular. But I also love a cocktail and these are not to be missed. Wine list not bad either and the pricing is fair. Located next door to the Ritz Carlton and centrally located to anyone who might be attending the Americasmart.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alma Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.