We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and casual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lunacy Black Market

Lunacy Black Market
231 Mitchell St. SW, Atlanta, GA (Hills Park)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #551 of 3,425 restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Tapas
Neighborhood: Hills Park
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hills Park
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quirky and casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As a native Atlantan I kept hearing about this place from different out-of-town friends so we had to try it. It is not in a part of town we would normally venture, especially after dark, although once there we didn't feel unsafe as part of a group of 6. Street parking could be tricky but we found a spot easily early in the evening. It's is a good idea to go early as when they are full they put a sign on the door, and guests are encouraged to linger. The only option offered to us was "chefs choice" which ended up being somewhat more expensive than if we had ordered directly off the menu -- maybe to discourage "large" groups? The food was good, some unusual dishes and some common things like French fries. This is not the place to go if you are watching your carbs! Overall it was a fun place to go especially if you like to try things off the beaten path. Ideal for old friends that want to have a bite or two, share a bottle of wine and linger in conversation without being rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    11
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Odd but Delicious Restaurant downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food here is exceptional! Ambiance is hip to the point of being odd, but I highly recommend it.
Difficult to find, have to look close as you are driving by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunacy--Genius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's ironic that the tagline of "Lunacy Black Market" is "uninspired cuisine" because the food is everything BUT uninspired!

The dining room is a mix of sofas, chairs, coffee tables and tables arranged in intimate groupings. Everything and I mean everything looks like the owner grabbed the pieces off the curb that was left discarded for trash pick-up and amazingly it all works in the space. I swear I was sitting at a drafting table with my sister and her husband!

But back to the food. It's served tapas style on mismatched plates, chipped on the edges. The menus are hand-written on cardboard, perhaps the boxes the wine's delivered in? Bottles of wine are reasonable. Here's what's good: Tomato & mozzarella (the cheese is homemade and the tomatos are roasted I think), fried cauliflower with herbs that made the dish pop, cabbage salad (I would never think to include basil), sweet potato fries, sauteed collard greens and curried chicken leg.

No doubt it was a soulful meal. Only thing, I wasn't crazy about the chicken, the curry was weak and needed salt but the sauteed collard greens had a touch too much salt. Still ate it all, that's just how my taste buds received it.

We shared a potato tartlett and peanut butter chocolate brownie. The potato tartlett was good, the brownie's edges a tad burnt, the low point of the meal.

Service was provided by a friendly and knowledgable waiter who delivered our check in a book titled "The Call For Something" by Stephen Thomas. There's supposed to be some type of meaning to that but I didn't get it.

The lunacy comes from dining as long as you want, there's no rush. Just chill and enjoy. And the prices...cheap...cheap...cheap!

Go for a different kind of experience. Cool place. Great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We try to eat here every March we come into town for a conference at GWCC. We love the quirky ambiance and delicious food. 4 of us ate everything on the menu, had a bottle of water and a bottle of wine and it was $78 dollars. You cannot beat the price nor the atmosphere - it's like you're eating in someone's house. Definitely not traditional so don't expect a usual restaurant. We ate dinner on a sofa/coffee table arrangement. The chef/owner always comes out to speak with us and makes our dinner that much more personal. This is a can't be missed experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NO CHILDREN sign on website, yup true”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Be aware it's all over their website, NO CHILDREN. Won't go back even though we enjoyed our experience without kids, heard someone else talk about it and checked the website after. That is a ridiculous policy to post on your website. Just don't offer a kids menu, it's that easy. A picture of the word CHILDREN with a line through it, just bad form. If you don't have kids, then you won't be offended by this at all, eat up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lunacy Black Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunacy Black Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.