We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1950?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Sullivan Road, Atlanta, GA 30337   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #89 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“1950?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is perfect to accommodate lost souls that missed their flight connection as it is located near the Airport. I landed in Atlanta GA, late that night, and thanks to the cuts in Federal fundings, flights were late... In any case, after 10 pm, I didn't expect to find a first class restaurant near the airport, but at least, because of the "Sheraton" brand, a restaurant that didn't time travel: Salads dressed with pre-made industrial dressing that tasted like Hydrochloric acid mixed with artificial flavors and baking soda to avoid instant poisoning - Orange processed cheese that is plastic injection molded on a bun that will last a couple of centuries since it is laced with anti-mold and preservatives. A cousin of wonder Bread - Dry chicken swimming in a bath of creamy sauce, "fresh" out of the package ... needless to say I starved for $25.00. Useless to complain, we are in Pleasantville, the coloured version.
The room was clean and friendly and on my insistence, I didn't get charged for the Internet. Missed the $17.00 movie on the flat screen - The staff was pleasant and professional and obviously had no idea what I was talking about.
In the morning, at the take-out breakfast bar, I picked up a burned acid laced expresso and croissant and thankfully they had a microwave so I could turn the soft croissant into a warm mush.
1950 you say?

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you are hungry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear JeanMichel,

Thank you for your feedback.

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

After reading your feedback, we are truly disappointed to learn that your restaurant experience did not represent our Brand. I will without a doubt share your feedback with our restaurant team, this will ensure all measures are implemented, administered and employed to avert future reoccurrence of your concern.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered and do hope you will give us another chance.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    185
    114
    53
    28
See reviews for
81
72
88
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallulah Falls, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wireless Internet access costs extra. Guests have to pay for parking (not made clear on website). Other *less* expensive airport hotels include these amenities in the price of the room.

Room coffee maker did not work. Continental breakfast not included with room (a staple for most travel hotels)... admittedly we left before 6am so there may have been a breakfast later. However, a hotel almost on the runway of "the world's busiest airport" should accommodate guests leaving at all hours.

I mentioned the non-functional coffee machine and my issues with the lack of clarity on parking charges at check-out. The staff member was professional and accommodating and told me to buzz him at the exit gate and he would open the gate without payment. When I tried this, the intercom failed on both exit gates (fortunately able to back up and try both). As he kept my ticket, I was unable to exit, had to repark, and go back to the lobby. The new attendant told me the parking intercom had been turned off for some reason. Was able to exit on second attempt. Fortunately, was not pushing flight deadline too closely.

Hotel is probably very good for corporate travelers on an expense account. The hotel has regular shuttle to airport and apparently allows (paid for) multi-day parking. However, the hotel is unnecessarily expensive for personal travel. Have had better experience at other, less expensive airport hotels. Will return to those again the next time we need a "night-before-the-flight" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear knowbd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

Rest assured knowing that I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department. My fundamental goal and objective is to ensure all available resources are utilized to avert future occurrence of your concerns and ultimately secure your loyalty to our brand.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered and do hope you will give us another chance.

Best regards,
Dedo F Dixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby area is like most upscale hotels, spacious, lots of marble and all of the amenities you need. They provide a shuttle to and from the airport which is very convenient and stress free. The room was very comfortable and the bed was very comfortable with great pillows.The only real drawback was the first day I had a car and the parking was very expensive with no alternatives available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Louis015,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly delighted by the extraordinary recognition you have afforded our hotel and its associates.

We are honored to have provided you with exceptional services and do look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The is a nice hotel and located really close to the airport. I just think in 2013 it is crazy to charge $6.95 for 30 minutes of internet. Motel 6, Super 8 and most motel advertise free WIFI. $14.95 for 24 hours of wifi is a little out of date.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear J L W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly saddened to have learnt that we did not exceed your expectations. Words cannot express how deeply sorry we are.

Rest assured knowing that I have shared your feedback regarding the internet with the appropriate depart and we will do all that is necessary to regain your confidence.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you will give us another chance.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Watch for thin walls at this location, else all good. Chatty neighbors at 1 am really wanted to party long an hard. Comfortable beds, good business center support and easy access to airport makes the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear EricB

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We sincerely appreciate the accolades you have afforded our hotel and its associates.

Rest assured knowing that I have shared your feedback regarding the noise complaint with the appropriate party and we will do all that is necessary to regain your confidence.

We are honored to have provided you with exceptional services and do look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great time. My daughter had her bday sleepover and rooms allowed us enough space for a bunch of cheerleaders. It was very convenient to downtown but far enough from all the city noise. I couldn't really hear the airport either. That was an extra plus Nice stay

Room Tip: Check in as early as possible. This is a conference type hotel. So rooms book fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear built2vaca

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly grateful for the recognition you have afforded our hotel and your mentioning of our speedy check in.

We are humbled to have provided you with exceptional services as we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalaha, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My recent stay during a convention on Easter Weekend was good. Value (for the convention) is fantastic. We get a reduced room rate with a mandatory one night deposit for the 4 day weekend that all guests are there.

The rooms are nice and open and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms need a little work. It's very uncomfortable to try and close the door to use the rest room or enter the shower. You must walk in, put yourself between the toilet and the sink and wedge the door closed. If the toilet were positioned differently, it would make things easier.

The hotel itself is clean and open. The restaurant is extremely overpriced for what it sells, but then again, that's most hotel food sources. There is a small cafe as well serving cold salads, sandwiches, sodas, juice and coffee in the lobby. Prices are average and food is acceptable.

The one thing I have the biggest issue with is the fact that there are no stairs that get you from the 3rd floor to the second or first. You must take an elevator to get to either of those floors. Seeing as we were at a convention with close to 2,000 people, elevators were packed and getting from the 3rd to the 2nd floors was sometimes impossible. On more then one occasion, we had to wait thirty minutes to sometimes over an hour to get in the elevator. Multiple times we had to walk from the 3rd floor up to the 10th floor to be able to get on to go back down to the 2nd floor.

There are entirely too few luggage carts for the hotel. While this isn't really an issue most of the time, for big events, it would be wise for the hotel to invest in more luggage carts to move guests with heavy luggage out faster. There are more then enough hotel staff in the loading/unloading area out front to move people in and out. The wait time for some was over an hour to get heavy items downstairs and into their cars.

Upon checkout, we noticed that we were actually charged once for our deposit and then again for the full cost of the room. So we were double charged for one night. This issue was fixed promptly, but is something that shouldn't be overlooked when it's clearly marked on the account when checking in.

I will continue to visit this hotel for the conventions, but I'm not positive that I would go out of my way to stay here just on travel.

Room Tip: Call in and request a room on the "Club level". There are no refrigerators on any of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Becca_T_1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly saddened to have learnt that we did not exceed your expectations. We will without a doubt revisit the areas you have mention to ensure close attention is paid to these areas of opportunity.

We are delighted to learn that you will visit us again on your next convention and will do all we can to ensure that your next stay is flawless.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and do look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport

Address: 1900 Sullivan Road, Atlanta, GA 30337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport is situated 0.5 mi from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta Airport, near Georgia International Convention Center. We're minutes from downtown Atlanta's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlanta
Atlanta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.