We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Sullivan Road, Atlanta, GA 30337   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #88 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby area is like most upscale hotels, spacious, lots of marble and all of the amenities you need. They provide a shuttle to and from the airport which is very convenient and stress free. The room was very comfortable and the bed was very comfortable with great pillows.The only real drawback was the first day I had a car and the parking was very expensive with no alternatives available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Louis015,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly delighted by the extraordinary recognition you have afforded our hotel and its associates.

We are honored to have provided you with exceptional services and do look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    183
    114
    53
    28
See reviews for
81
71
88
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The is a nice hotel and located really close to the airport. I just think in 2013 it is crazy to charge $6.95 for 30 minutes of internet. Motel 6, Super 8 and most motel advertise free WIFI. $14.95 for 24 hours of wifi is a little out of date.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear J L W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly saddened to have learnt that we did not exceed your expectations. Words cannot express how deeply sorry we are.

Rest assured knowing that I have shared your feedback regarding the internet with the appropriate depart and we will do all that is necessary to regain your confidence.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you will give us another chance.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Watch for thin walls at this location, else all good. Chatty neighbors at 1 am really wanted to party long an hard. Comfortable beds, good business center support and easy access to airport makes the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear EricB

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We sincerely appreciate the accolades you have afforded our hotel and its associates.

Rest assured knowing that I have shared your feedback regarding the noise complaint with the appropriate party and we will do all that is necessary to regain your confidence.

We are honored to have provided you with exceptional services and do look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great time. My daughter had her bday sleepover and rooms allowed us enough space for a bunch of cheerleaders. It was very convenient to downtown but far enough from all the city noise. I couldn't really hear the airport either. That was an extra plus Nice stay

Room Tip: Check in as early as possible. This is a conference type hotel. So rooms book fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear built2vaca

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly grateful for the recognition you have afforded our hotel and your mentioning of our speedy check in.

We are humbled to have provided you with exceptional services as we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalaha, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My recent stay during a convention on Easter Weekend was good. Value (for the convention) is fantastic. We get a reduced room rate with a mandatory one night deposit for the 4 day weekend that all guests are there.

The rooms are nice and open and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms need a little work. It's very uncomfortable to try and close the door to use the rest room or enter the shower. You must walk in, put yourself between the toilet and the sink and wedge the door closed. If the toilet were positioned differently, it would make things easier.

The hotel itself is clean and open. The restaurant is extremely overpriced for what it sells, but then again, that's most hotel food sources. There is a small cafe as well serving cold salads, sandwiches, sodas, juice and coffee in the lobby. Prices are average and food is acceptable.

The one thing I have the biggest issue with is the fact that there are no stairs that get you from the 3rd floor to the second or first. You must take an elevator to get to either of those floors. Seeing as we were at a convention with close to 2,000 people, elevators were packed and getting from the 3rd to the 2nd floors was sometimes impossible. On more then one occasion, we had to wait thirty minutes to sometimes over an hour to get in the elevator. Multiple times we had to walk from the 3rd floor up to the 10th floor to be able to get on to go back down to the 2nd floor.

There are entirely too few luggage carts for the hotel. While this isn't really an issue most of the time, for big events, it would be wise for the hotel to invest in more luggage carts to move guests with heavy luggage out faster. There are more then enough hotel staff in the loading/unloading area out front to move people in and out. The wait time for some was over an hour to get heavy items downstairs and into their cars.

Upon checkout, we noticed that we were actually charged once for our deposit and then again for the full cost of the room. So we were double charged for one night. This issue was fixed promptly, but is something that shouldn't be overlooked when it's clearly marked on the account when checking in.

I will continue to visit this hotel for the conventions, but I'm not positive that I would go out of my way to stay here just on travel.

Room Tip: Call in and request a room on the "Club level". There are no refrigerators on any of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Becca_T_1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly saddened to have learnt that we did not exceed your expectations. We will without a doubt revisit the areas you have mention to ensure close attention is paid to these areas of opportunity.

We are delighted to learn that you will visit us again on your next convention and will do all we can to ensure that your next stay is flawless.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and do look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,

Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this property, due to an annual convention that's held here. Frankly, I'm quite underwhelmed. The internet, which is free at every other decent hotel in the nation, costs $9.95/day, and couldn't keep up with the demand of a sold-out hotel. There is no free breakfast, not even danishes and coffee. The staff was much less knowledgeable than last year.

One of our party has necessary daily medication that has to be refrigerated close by. I asked about a refrigerator in the room, when I made the reservation, five months in advance. I was told they couldn't guarantee a refrigerator in the room so far ahead, and instructed to call back a few weeks before. I called three weeks before check-in, and was informed to call back the morning of arrival, as we were leaving home. Others attending the convention made me aware that they were already hearing the hotel was out of refrigerators for our convention, so I called the night before. I spoke with Kenyada, who said they couldn't do anything until we got there, the refrigerators were first-come-first-served, regardless of medical necessity, and she thought they were "probably out, anyway."

Of course, I insisted, and they finally took care of the issue, but I had to become practically belligerent, first, which should NEVER be required for something like this.

We arrived at the hotel, and were REQUIRED to use a bellhop, which was provided by an outside contractor, if we were to be allowed the use of a luggage cart.

The bathrooms are tiny, with no exhaust fan, and the room layout is cramped. The beds, which, even in much cheaper hotels are two queens/room, were doubles, instead. There was no microwave or refrigerator standard to the room, which is standard in most decent hotels. The TV was small, and programming was pathetic. Even the cheapest of no-tell-motels offer free HBO. This property doesn't.

Something is obviously wrong, structurally, with the parking garage. The staff only opened up the lowest level to convention attendees, even though the demand was much higher. None of the staff could answer questions about the parking, for which we were supposed to be charged $5.00/day. The parking meter at the exit of the garage doesn't function properly, and the staff standing nearby were clueless about how to make it work.

We were not actually charged for parking or internet, but I believe that is only because I specifically discussed these issues with the desk.

The restaurant is far too expensive for the quality of food served there.

The service, though not very knowledgeable, was friendly, and the rooms were clean. Otherwise, this hotel is a total bust.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Becca_T_1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly honored by the kind words you have afforded our team.

Word cannot express how deeply saddened we are by the areas of opportunities you have shared. We will without a doubt do all we can to ensure these areas are all immediately corrected.

I have also shared your feedback with the departments that requires attention.

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you encountered and do look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Best regards,
Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

First when we arrived we had reserved a king bed, but they informed us we had to take a double because they had no more kings available. We got into the room and noticed first that there were no trash can liners and that the trash cans were nasty looking and smelling. Also, the room had not been fully cleaned because we found a dirty towel partially behind the dresser and partially out in the open. The hotel resturant was very slow and there was nothing on the menu about drinks and when asked the waiter had no idea. Food quality did not match the price at all, way to expensive for what they serve. There were no stairs to get to lower floor except emergency exit ones that set off an alarm. Also, whoever designed the rooms needs to get a new degree or common sense. The bathroom design actually entire room design is better in most one star hotels. The ONLY upside of this place was that the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dedo48, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Celest83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We are truly disappointed to learn that your previous experience was far from what you anticipated.

Rest assured knowing that I have shared your feedback with the appropriate department and we will do all we can to regain your confidence to our brand. Here at the Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta, we pride ourselves with an exceptional facility and service; based on your feedback we did not provide you with such.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you will give us another chance.

Best regards,
Dedo F. Dixon
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport

Address: 1900 Sullivan Road, Atlanta, GA 30337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport is situated 0.5 mi from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta Airport, near Georgia International Convention Center. We're minutes from downtown Atlanta's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlanta
Atlanta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gateway Hotel Atlanta Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.