We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low budget!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Virginia Ave, Atlanta, GA 30344 (Formerly Budgetel Inn Atlanta Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Low budget!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Okay, you didn't book this motel for the ambiance or amenities. It's your BASIC motel. Nothing fancy for sure. The staff pleasant and helpful. Asked for non-smoking room, given smoking. Tony front desk apologized and changed room Motel is not that old but has not been maintained. No hair dryer, coffee maker, shampoo. Towel quality on the thin side. Just a room nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreaGM_JHMHOTELS_ATL, General Manager at Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ms. Moore,

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry to hear about our guest service agent checking you into a smoking room instead of non-smoking. I will address this with our team. This is a mistake that just should not have happened.

Motel 6 as a brand nationwide does not offer hair dryers, coffee makers and shampoo in the rooms. This helps us keep our costs down which helps each of our hotels to be able to provide the lowest rates in each of our respective markets.

We will however be going through a complete renovation in 2014 which will make the hotel look brand new inside and out.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again around August 2014 when our renovations will be completed.

Best Regards,
Nilesh Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    30
    13
    20
See reviews for
18
20
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here for Dragon*con 2013. I didn't know I'd be able to go to it until a couple months before, and I was going by myself. Of course all of the under $150 downtown hotels were booked up. I figured I'd go with a less expensive chain hotel so I could spend whatever I needed to on transportation/parking. It worked out great.

A couple of the days, I took the free hotel shuttle to the airport and then rode the MARTA train up to Dragon*con. It was so convenient. Just know that where the shuttle drops you off at the airport is not where you will be picked up. There is a special little station where the local hotel transportation vans park. From the MARTA at the airport, follow signs to ground transportation for local hotels. The shuttle hours are from around 4:00am to 1:45am, and the MARTA train hours are from around 4:30am to 1:30am (it varies depending on days of the week) so plan accordingly. If you're going to the con and might be out really late, plan on driving to the con and paying for parking or plan on staying out so late that it becomes morning (like I did on Saturday night/Sunday morning).

The hotel room had a refrigerator and microwave which I was very happy about. It was clean. There were tons of cable channels. Free wifi. The staff I interacted with were nice and friendly and helpful. There are vending machines in the lobby, and the hotel is right across the street from a McDonald's and some other restaurants.

Yeah it's not super fancy, but all I really needed was a clean, comfortable, affordable place to sleep for a few nights, and this place was great. Hopefully next year I can get into one of the affordable downtown hotels so I'm in walking distance of Dragon*con, but if not, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreaGM_JHMHOTELS_ATL, General Manager at Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Ryan F,

The Labor Day weekend was an exteremly busy weekend in Atlanta and Dragon Con is one of the events that brings a lot of people and guests to our hotels. It is really fun to see all the attendees and the costumes they wear.

Thank you for posting such an insightful and helpful review, the information you put about the transportation will help our potential guest understand how to use our Shuttle and MARTA efficiently.

I am also happy to hear about your stay experience and will provide your comments to our team.

If you are not able to find a hotel in downtown next year that is reasonably priced, we hope to see you again and will provide you with a great value experience with good service.

Thank you for staying at our hotel and visiting our beautiful city!

Best Regards,

Nilesh Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The front desk need to read all info faxed over or anything e-mailed to them the last night I stayed their I asked for late checkout from the internet and front desk said y'all don't do late checkout anymore but she will leave a note that she approved for me to stay until 3,the next morning they was on the door for me to checkout and I explained to them about my 3 o'clock checkout and I assumed we was on the same page but they came back twice and the last time they came it was a man and I was fed up at that point now we are using another hotel when we come to town and also I told my co-workers and two of them said it happened to them they had the same problem They need to be on the same page and respect any and everyone they never know who they are dealing with .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreaGM_JHMHOTELS_ATL, General Manager at Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ms. Brenda D,

Thank you so much for posting this review, we have some work to do with communication with front desk and housekeeping in regards to late check-outs.
The information you have provided is very valuable and I will speak with our managers over both departments and make sure we have a better communication about late checkout rooms and not disturbing the guests.

I am sorry to see that this issue made you switch hotels and we will make sure that we do not have these issues again.

I hope in the future you will give us a second chance to show you that we have made the improvements in this regard.

Best Regards,
Nilesh Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel worth more than the money paid in term of location, enviroment and services. The staff are well trained and cultured. I have good value for the money paid for my two days stay.I will recommend the hotel for anyone looking for relatevely cheap but nice hotel in Atlanta

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreaGM_JHMHOTELS_ATL, General Manager at Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our team is going to love reading your review!! Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

We use Trip Advisor reviews as a tool to help us improve our guest service and quality. I am delighted to see that your stay went very well and you found great value in staying with us.

You are right the location of our hotel in the Atlanta Airport area is A1!! Malone's, Spondivits, Ruby Tuesdays and several other restaurants are across the street from us. Close to Airport and other facilities as well. You dont even need to drive.

Your review will be a great motivater for our team, and make them feel great about the work they are doing to make our hotel and service better for our guests.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again and we look forward to serving you.

Kindest Regards,
Nilesh Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and beds were comfy. Not in the best part of town but it was close to the airport. Within walking distance of several places to eat. Once sun went down there were several shady people walking around so make sure you lock vehicle up.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreaGM_JHMHOTELS_ATL, General Manager at Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, your feedback is very important to us. I am glad to hear that your room and bed was to your staisfaction. We are working with our security company and guest service department to make the hotel and the area feel safer for our guests on an on going basis.

We hope your travels bring you back to Atlanta and we will have the chance to take care of you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Nilesh Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was in town for a convention but my hotel was downtown and we were going arrive late. So stayed here for the first night in and last night out. The shuttle from airport was ok. The directions the staff gives you are not clear. Took awhile to find the shuttle pickup. Beds were great and the location was not bad. Couple decent places to eat within walking distance. The only real negative was the water pressure was low.

Room Tip: our first night there the window had a ledge and since the ac unit is right below it, when you turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreaGM_JHMHOTELS_ATL, General Manager at Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello Mr. Topher,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

I would also like to thank you for staying at our hotel at the begining and end of your visit to our fair city of Atlanta. I hope your attendance at the convention was a productive one.

I am gald to see that you were able to take advantage of our hotel's location to the airport and also the local restaurants located next door to our hotel.

I hope you will have the time to respond back to me with a little more information on our shuttle service - which you mentioned was OK, as I would like to see what changes we can make to make the experince great!

Also noticed your comment about the low water pressure in your shower, I will have our engineering team look into that. I have not had any other guests provide me feedback about the water pressure being low, so it may have been your individual room, and this will be investigated further.

I will also speak with our manager to heads up our guest services department to see what veribage is currently being used by our guest service agents to provide information on our shuttle service and directions to ground transportation where we pick up.

Reviews from guest like yourself really help our hotel to improve, and it helps our other future guests as well, so that they do not have to face any inconveniences.

I hope your travel brings you back to Atlanta and we will once again have the opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards,
Nilesh Patel
General Manager
gm.motel6@jhmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place is entirely adequate for the price: clean, modern, reasonably spacious rooms. The lower end of the price spectrum can be a minefield. No problems with this one. Several restaurants nearby. Safe neighborhood.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreaGM_JHMHOTELS_ATL, General Manager at Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello Steve S,

Thank you for posting your review. We are very glad to hear that your stay met your expectations, we hope you will choose our hotel again in the near future when your travels bring you to Atlanta.

Best Regards,

Nilesh Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North

Address: 1200 Virginia Ave, Atlanta, GA 30344 (Formerly Budgetel Inn Atlanta Airport)
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 (formerly Red Roof Inn) offers 191 rooms with interior corridors, walking distance to numerous restaurants, free cable with ESPN, free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, business center,free parking. We are very near Turner Field stadium, downtown Atlanta, Georgia Dome and Six Flags Georgia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Atlanta Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.