We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for midtown. Better choices available.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1365 Peachtree St, Atlanta, GA 30309 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #57 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fine for midtown. Better choices available.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Booked through priceline and although a decent deal the $22 parking is a little stiff. Stayed the previous couple of days in Decatur at a Courtyard and it was a much better option with great restaurants within walking distance, farmers markets, the marta, a nice hotel, and a great staff.

Tried to get a early check in and was told could not check in until 4pm. Not a problem so I asked if they could call me if a room opens up sooner. I called back at 2pm to find a room was available. When I arrived I asked the front desk person why she didn't call and she said it she was on lunch at the time. This was one of the many times that the front desk looked like the guests were interrupting their day and conversations. The room they gave me was not done so after lugging my luggage up there I went back and asked for a different room. The one they gave me had a runny faucet and a toliet that didn't flush. Instead of going back to deal with the front desk I waited until later for a shift change. The gentleman at that time moved me to a 1 bedroom suite with is basically the same as the regular rooms except with a wall, door, and extra tv. Nice gesture though. The rooms are your normal residence inn rooms. The only question I have is why all marriotts have these soft pillows.

Anyway, never were we greeted upon entering hotel morning or night. The only person who had any customer service skills was the valet.

I would recommend this hotel only if you need to be in this midtown area but if visiting Atlanta go to Decatur to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    31
    25
    7
See reviews for
53
48
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Residence Inn Midtown. It was a little tricky to find at first, but found it right off the Arts Center MARTA stop. We arrived just a little early and were able to check in after about a 20 minute wait, so not bad. The front desk was nice and helpful, but I couldn't help but notice their uniform was nothing more than a tshirt. It's not a big deal, but didn't look too professional. The room, while clean, just looked like any other Residence Inn. The bed in the one bedroom suite was quite small I thought, and actually wasn't very comfortable. The hand rail in the bathroom looked like it was coming off the wall, and it was hard moving about the shower with the handicap accessible seat in it. If I were handicapped it would have been perfect. My favorite part of the hotel was the Hearth Room on the second floor. It was nicely set up, the evening host was very pleasant and helpful, and the pool table was a nice touch. Overall my stay was fine, but simply average.

Room Tip: One closer to the elevators, the halls can be quite long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel's location could not be better. It is next to high museum, cultural area, restaurants and a big park. But th e problems begin once you check in. There is a parking charge daily of $22. The hotel staff is friendly but grossly incompetent. Usually I send or receive faxes at the hotel, neither was possible here. The Internet was too slow..the breakfast..cold and listless. If you call the manager to complain, she is likely to hang up on you. I ended up filing several complaints with Mariott customer service to get them to respond. The housekeeping staff resorted to strange behavior that I cannot comprehend..took out towels and silver out of the room ...why would you want to stay here?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown on a family visit to Atlanta in late April, 2012.

The location of the hotel is conveniently located near I-75 and is very easy to find. Note, they only offer valet parking, which costs $22/day (more about this later).

We had reserved two, studio suites for our families. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. One room was outfitted with a recliner and sofa bed while the other only had the sofa bed.

The rooms were very clean and well kept. Neither showed any signs of excess wear.

The staff at the Residence Inn was friendly, helpful and accommodating. A late-checkout was immediately granted and the front desk clerk had great suggestions for restaurants in the area.

Wireless internet access is complimentary and very speedy. iPad users beware: you may have to follow a couple extra steps to get connected.

The breakfast room is very large and the breakfast selections wide and varied. I wish they offered more fresh fruit options, however.

My only complaint with the hotel is its valet parking charge policy. Although we stayed two nights, checking in at 3:00 pm on arrival and departing at 1:00 pm two days later, we were charged for three days of parking...because...according to the desk clerk...we parked our car in the garage for parts of three separate days. Don't agree with the policy, but couldn't win the fight.

Our only other complaint was with the beds, which were fairly hard and not too comfortable.

The hotel is conveniently located near many fun restaurants, Georgia Tech, the Fox Theater, and more.

A great hotel for a family trip.

Room Tip: rooms to the west of the elevator (numbered 01 to 04) have better views than just the parking lot, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

great services everyone was very helpful, it was also the closer to all the action in ATL great rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

From the hotel you can walk to most of Atlanta downtown, MLK museum, CocaCola, CNN, city park. Restaurants and bars all within 2 blocks. The only downside was the elevators which were very slow. I think one was being repaired.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I picked this hotel because I wanted to be close to the action of Altanta and also be near public transportation. I was nervous at first based on other TripAdvisor reviews. After arriving at the hotel i was blown away. The staff was very friendly and the room was great. There were reviews stating the hotel wasnt lit well, i totally disagree it was well lit and had plenty of space. The bed was soft, the sheets were clean, the kitchen was clean and there was plenty of channels during down time. Me and the guest i was with were very pleased with this hotel.

The marta bus stops right in front of the hotel. if you are looking to take the train the station is in walking distance. it is easy to learn and can be taken to two of the local malls with no problem. (Dunwoody and Lenux). Walking distance to a few good places to eat. High Recommend Taco Mac where there ahd to be over 50 beers on tap.

Overall this was a great hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street

Address: 1365 Peachtree St, Atlanta, GA 30309
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#78 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown / 17th Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.