We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Atlanta to your Saves list
Hilton Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Courtland Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Staycation from $84!
Ranked #95 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hilton Atlanta was actually better than I expected, given the outside. It's an older hotel, but most of them in downtown Atlanta are, so don't expect it to be super updated.

That said, the rooms are better than the hallways.

Was here for a tradeshow, so was staying on-site for business for four days. Room, on the concierge level floor, was nice, with a big TV with HD.

Bed was pretty comfortable. Bathroom a bit small and the bath amenities are all Hilton (i.e. kinda cruddy). Nice desk and desk chair.

Concierge lounge is fairly nice. It's great to be able to go get a free coffee or tea when you need it. Breakfast had a nice variety of stuff. Missed the evening spread, but nice to know it was there. The lounge floors are 3 floors, though, so you may have to go up one or down one to get something.

Location is a bit suck if you have to go out for something. You can hike it down a couple of blocks to Peachtree, but it's not right there.

My room was pretty loud. On 27th floor, near the area overlooking the lounge, it could be quite loud. But again, hotel was full for this tradeshow, so I expected it and packed earplugs.

Overall, not bad, but I wish all these hotels didn't feel the need to jack you for internet. It's offensive for a hotel catering to business travelers. Definitely makes you want to step down to a Hilton Garden Inn--still get a big TV and a comfy bed, but you pay less AND get free internet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    664
    480
    197
    102
See reviews for
321
357
144
834
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010 via mobile

I was worried about staying at this hotel based on reviews I read on this site before I went. I was there October 15-18, 2010 for a conference. However, I was pleasantly surprised by my experience. Unlike what previous travelers experienced, I found the hotel staff to be friendly, helpful and treated me with respect. I ordered room service twice: the same staff member brought it to me each morning, was on time, called me by name and even asked me about my kids (since I had mentioned being away from them).

Further, the hotel has been updated and renovated. The furnishings are modern and very tasteful.

The one awful thing is the location. It is in the middle of nowhere. Even the little mall nearby was closed on the weekend. I spent $60 roundtrip to take a cab to an area with shopping (Lenox mall). The saving grace is that it is attached to the Marriott, which is a great hotel. I had a massage at their spa, and ate dinner there and did some shopping in their gift shop.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable. Easy access to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The clerk service was excellent and very accommodating. The service was better than we could ever expected. The room was very clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this hotel for your special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you for your comment. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Atlanta. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Don't even think about bringing a car to this hotel. We made a reservation over the telephone. When we arrived at the hotel the valet said that valet parking was full and that we'd have to drive to a private lot a block away. Not too easy, not to mention not safe at all to be walking around the downtown Atlanta streets at night. Of course, the private lot (not owned by Hilton) doesn't have in-and-outs, so be prepared to pay out the teeth. Just not worth the risk if you're bringing a car.

As others have written, the service is just horrible at the hotel.

Interiors are VERY dated and worn.

I would consider staying at the Marriott across the street, which connects to the Hilton via a tunnel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Hello and thank you for posting your comment. We sincerely apologize that our service did not meet your expectations. We always welcome the opportunity to improve upon our services when guests express their dissatisfaction. We hope you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to make your stay a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The service was better than average. The room was comfortable, with great views of downtown Atlanta. Of particular quality and convenience was the conference facility within the hotel that made it very convenient to get from room to meetings with only a short walk. The restaurant at the hotel was above par.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Was working an event last week at the Hilton Atlanta. I was in a meeting room working backstage. The session ended, and I ran to the restroom. When I got back my laptop and the cellphone attached to it was gone. I ran through the back hallway and found my mouse and connector cable. I notified security and they came and helped me look for it. The security people got the guy walking through the Marriott connector on video. But I never heard anything about what happened. The Hilton sales manager was awesome. But the house security was a little unprofessional at best. He wrote down my infrmation on a hotel napkin. In this day and time I think security should be beefed up. If you are ever there please lock up your belongings, or you will never see them again

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thanks to the quick notification from our guest and swift action from our security team, we were indeed able to investigate the situation and track down the perpetrator on camera. We sincerely apologize that you were not given an update regarding the investigation. Hilton Atlanta prides itself on making the safety and security of our guests as top priority. Our security team works closely with the Atlanta Police Department to resolve any issues that may occur on the premise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Address: 255 Courtland Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#85 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Atlanta hotel in downtown Atlanta is just blocks to some of the best attractions in the city including the Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia World Congress Center. Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport is a fifteen minute drive from the hotel. Enjoy the stylish, modern, rooms and great on-site restaurants, including Nikolai’s Roof, and Trader Vic’s. Guests can also take advantage of a complete recreational menu including a fitness center with cutting-edge equipment, outdoor swimming pool, outdoor running track, and tennis and basketball courts. Our convention hotel offers 119,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space with the latest technology for great meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.