We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice place to stay in downtown Atlanta - pool two tennis courts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Atlanta to your Saves list
Hilton Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Courtland Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates From $119!
Ranked #96 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Michigan
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Perfectly nice place to stay in downtown Atlanta - pool two tennis courts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This Hilton is clearly an older property but has been updated and is a very clean, comfortable place to stay in downtown Atlanta. I only gave it an average rating because you might be able to find a more modern hotel for the same or better price in the area. Rooms do have all the technical amenities - flat screen tv, internet access, lots of outlets etc - but the plumbing, for example, isn't the best. Took 10 minutes to get hot water in the shower, shower heads were old and sprayed water all over, etc. Also, the main areas weren't what I would call "attractive". There appeared to be a very nice exercise facitity and an outdoor pool and two tennis courts - a real plus in the city! So if the price is right, you like Hilton's or want a pool and/or tennis courts this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, however, I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently replacing our old unit and don't foresee any additional issues. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    615
    437
    184
    98
See reviews for
302
336
138
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was by far the most disappointing stay I've ever had at ANY Hilton. Before I left the Front Desk, I checked to confirm that I had received my requested room-type and was told I had not. I understand that happens, but when I asked if a room with just one bed was available, I was given an abrupt "NO" without anyone ever actually bothering to look at a computer monitor or press a single key on a keyboard. No apology, and no effort - Nice start to the stay. Unfortunately, things did not improve from there. My room had a strong unpleasant smell of mold / mildew / ???, and the bathroom floor was so gross that I did not want to walk on it without shoes. Exec Lounge breakfast was minimal. On the plus-side, the gym was pretty descent, the restaurant downstairs served food late into the evening, and the staff there were very nice. Ultimately though I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I appreciate your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel. I apologize for the room assignment not meeting your expectations as comfort and safety is my highest priority for our guests. While room type requests cannot be met every time, I have reviewed your comments with our front desk team. However, I would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in your guestroom. I've worked with the appropriate team members to ensure that we correct all issues. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable beds. The lobby around the elevator is in need of a re-paint as it is looking a little tired. Repeated struggles with inoperable room key card, but these are minor concerns against an otherwise very clean hotel with great breakfast and dinner service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of our lobby. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The rooms were in very good condition and were attractive and clean. The service was very good and Starbucks (in the lobby) was open 24 hours a day and had free WiFi. The only negative was that the common areas, such as hallways, lobbies and lounges, looked a little out of date, especially compared to the Marriott across the street. However, I was able to book a room at the Hilton Atlanta for $100 less per night than at the Marriott, more than off-setting the slightly out-of-date common areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after receiving a really good rate on Hotwire. When we arrived, we were pleased to find the room very clean and comfortable with high quality linens. No problems with the bathroom or the shower, and I thought that the water pressure was pretty good for a hotel. We tried to save money on parking by using a public lot and misread the expiration time on our ticket. As a result, we were booted, and had to pay $75. Just note: overnight hotel parking costs $14/day and expires at noon the next day (not midnight). We used an outside lot, and felt safe using it over the weekend as the area has a lot of foot traffic, even at night. There is a ton of public parking within easy walking distance of the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants, a food court and a 24h CVS within easy walking distance. The walk to the aquarium is a moderate one (but with an uphill stretch when you return to the hotel). I'd be happy to stay there again for a discounted rate, or if I were attending a conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Overall, I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the location. My colleague and I were staying in this hotel for three nights for a professional conference which was taking place in the Marriot across the street. With that being said, my colleague and I were relieved that we could just walk across the sky bridge to Marriot to get to our conference.

To save money, we decided to drive down from Raleigh, NC. On the hotel's website, it said we would be paying $22 for parking, and we were perfectly fine with that. On our last day in the hotel, we received a note under our door of charges in addition to the cost of the hotel. On that form we saw the charge for parking...A total of $66. We had no idea that we would be paying $22 A DAY for parking, as this was not clearly outlined to us on the Hilton website, or by the hotel staff. This was our first time visiting a large city, and had no idea how parking would work.

I informed my coworker that I would pay for parking when I exited the deck, and she could pay for the rest when she checked out later that day. I was 45 minutes up the road when I received a phone call from my coworker who was at the front desk checking out. the Hilton staff had no proof that I had paid the $66 for parking when I left, and had to charge my friend an additional $66 to her card. The staff member even had the audacity to ask if "your friend was lying" about the parking. Unknown to me, I had to exit the parking deck without paying (using another ticket I received) and pay the parking fee at the front desk of the hotel. Again, the website nor the staff members clearly informed us of this policy, and I am incredibly disappointed.

I called the hotel when I got home later that afternoon and informed them of what happened. I was told that they would take the charge off of my coworker's card as long as I emailed the parking deck receipt to them. That is perfectly fine, but I am still shocked that they do not have a better system in place: the parking deck is ran by an entirely different company, who apparently do not communicate to the hotel or vise versa. How often does this happen to other guests who decide to utilize the parking deck under the hotel?

In regards to the internet, the hotel does not offer any free internet service...It is about $12 A DAY to access internet. I find this absolutely ridiculous, especially since there are hotels that are much cheaper with free internet. Finally, for the price we were paying, you would think there would be complimentary breakfast...NOPE.

With that being said, I am not entirely sure I would come back to this hotel...The cost of parking is absurd, and to pay for internet was inconvenient. I will definitely do some more research on hotels in the area that offer standard and free amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sharing your comments with the third party that operates the parking facility at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Again, I apologize for the poor service and we hope that next time you’re in the area you will consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I arrived at the hotel in early afternoon. They did not have a room ready. they asked me to leave my number and they would call when the room was ready. They never called. I finally returned at 5pm and they had a room. Looking at other reviews service seems to be an issue in this hotel.
Room was clean and kept that way during my 6 night stay. The shower was terrible as the water temperature kept going from scalding hot to ice cold without moving the valve. I heard the same complaint from a few others that were staying there along with other shower issues. I don't pln on staying there again on my next visit. The buffet breakfast was about what you would expect from a Comfort Inn, not Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, however, I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently replacing our old unit and don't foresee any additional issues. However, we would like to apologize for the other inconveniences as well. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Address: 255 Courtland Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#90 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Atlanta hotel in downtown Atlanta is just blocks to some of the best attractions in the city including the Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia World Congress Center. Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport is a fifteen minute drive from the hotel. Enjoy the stylish, modern, rooms and great on-site restaurants, including Nikolai’s Roof, and Trader Vic’s. Guests can also take advantage of a complete recreational menu including a fitness center with cutting-edge equipment, outdoor swimming pool, outdoor running track, and tennis and basketball courts. Our convention hotel offers 119,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space with the latest technology for great meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.