We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a big wallet, it is nice, old, but not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Save Saved
You added Hilton Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Courtland Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale from $89!
Ranked #101 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Bring a big wallet, it is nice, old, but not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife was attending a conference in Atlanta and the Hilton was chosen as her hotel. It is convenient to most things downtown, especially considering you can take the connecting skywalk between the hotels to get to Peachtree Street without having to go into the weather.
The rooms are spacious and for the most part quite. The room was clean, but noticed that our housekeeper had a wide range of times to do housekeeping such as 11 am one morning and other days at 3 pm. The later time was inconvenient.
The rooms are very pricey, over $200 per night not including about 18% in taxes. But then again no hotel in the city is cheap, you need to drive out to the I-285 beltway to find rooms under $100. Alos the restaurants at the Hilton are all overpriced for what you get. The lobby ones run about $18 to $28 and the top floor can be up to $35 to $40 per person. We walked across the skybridge to the Marriott Marquis and found a place (High Velocity) with meals in the $10 to $20 range. Thye were good.
One final note about the Atlanta Hilton as well as the other hotels, the cost of parking a car is very high, about $29 per night - ouch.

Room Tip: Don't get near the elevators. If Hilton Honors ask for the Honors floor with the free breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    588
    408
    175
    96
See reviews for
283
314
131
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had the pleasure of attending an educational conference at the hotel and it was really nice. The food at the reception was delicious and the service was awesome. Loved it. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Coner units are bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were pleased with your food, room and service. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was travelling in Atlanta for business in early October and neeed to stay just one night. There was a major logistics conference going on and most business hotels in downtown Atlanta were either full or very expensive. Even the Garden Inn I used to stay was selling at $350+ a night (perhaps for its proximity to the Convention Center). I was happily surprised when I found a kingbed room at the Hilton which was just 2/3 of that price.

Yes, the hotel was a bit tired, bland and dull. But the room was clean and comfortable enough or a good night's sleep. My room was quite spacious but the bathroom was unproportionately small. Yet everything worked just fine for me. It may not be up to par with the best Hiltons but certainly comparable to the Garden Inns and better than the DoubleTrees. Would be nice if they offer some perks to the loyal HHonors members such as free in-room Wifi.

Room Tip: Higher floors should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in the area. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you found some deficiencies while staying with us. . Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I hate to complain, but although this is a great hotel in almost every aspect (and you probably do not expect less from a hilton), I was exteremely disappointed with the service.

I wanted to buy a couple of things online and ship them to the hotel, so I called the hotel a couple of weeks before my stay, and asked them how this can be done. They gave me the address of the hotel, and told me that all I need to do is to ship to that address. The packages arrived just fine.

BUT....
After I checked out I found out (a bit too late) that I was charged 30$ for "package handling". It is certainly outrageous that they neglected to tell me that I would have to pay such a large hangling fee.
I wrote to the hotel, but more than 10 days have passed and they didn't bother to respond.

This bad service simply ruined my impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you made the arrangement, but I will be sure to address our team members in regard to your situation. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we apologize for the miscommunication. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Usual Hilton offer, huge hotel, you feel like you are staying in a rabbit warren. However the room was spacious and clean and no complaints there other than I could hear the traffic a bit from the motorways below ( I was on floor 15). They are expensive, I was on a conference rate of $200 dollar a night but when you come to check out there was another $295 in taxes!! Not right they should quote the rate per night inclusive!. I went for breakafast which is a buffet and it is $18 which is pricey but then again Tax on top plus tip means you are paying about $24 for breakfast which is nothing special. There is a Starbucks in the lobby where you could eat cheaper however I dont trust their food as I asked for a breakfast biscuit with egg and sausage but when I bit into the sausage was still frozen!!! OK but in summary, pricey, clean and bland.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back facing the pool it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Starting with the positives, the rooms had very comfortable beds, and sound was well insulated - so full marks for sleep quality. Other positive is that there are eight elevators, so you rarely had to wait very long for one.

Often I go for much cheaper hotels, so the above factors would be more than enough to keep me happy. But given I'm paying Hilton rates here, and I'm a Hilton Gold, I expect something a bit more. Sadly that was not forthcoming.

The rooms - and especially the miniscule bathroom - were way below normal Hilton sizes. Reasonable but not generous work space in the room itself. In the bathroom, the bathroom door comes right up to the toilet bowl. Very basic decor, sloppy paint jobs on walls, and scratched furniture - all gave an air of a lack of care. There are several bar/restaurants in the hotel but they are quite ludicrously overpriced and pretty poor quality.

The location is convenient for conferences/businesses in the downtown area, but it's a couple of blocks going past aggressive beggars to get to the local metro station and other amenities. And even those are non-existent on weekends. It's not enjoyable to get to anything outside the hotel, to be honest. I know you probably get similar situations in other areas of Atlanta, but it added to the disappointment of this experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the convention center. It is located 2 blocks from a MARTA station and 5 blocks from Olympic park but they are very big blocks. The shuttles to the congress center took 15 minutes and although I did not walk, I would estimate a 30 minute walk.
My room on the 22nd floor was quiet and comfortable. The bed and bedding are good quality. The bathroom was a little worn but clean. The furniture is all standard business hotel. Elevators were a bit slow and common areas very average.
There is a small cafe off the lobby which was very convenient. There is free Internet only in the lobby area and it did not work well for me. The "business center" consists of rental computers in the FedEx office which closes at 7 pm weekdays a d 5 pm weekends. I thought this was really weak for what appears to be a business hotel.
Overall, an average, acceptable hotel. I would only stay here again as part of a conference.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Address: 255 Courtland Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#95 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Atlanta hotel in downtown Atlanta is just blocks to some of the best attractions in the city including the Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia World Congress Center. Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport is a fifteen minute drive from the hotel. Enjoy the stylish, modern, rooms and great on-site restaurants, including Nikolai’s Roof, and Trader Vic’s. Guests can also take advantage of a complete recreational menu including a fitness center with cutting-edge equipment, outdoor swimming pool, outdoor running track, and tennis and basketball courts. Our convention hotel offers 119,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space with the latest technology for great meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.