We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cellar 56

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cellar 56
56 E Andrews Drive, Atlanta, GA 30305
678-244-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cellar 56 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,263 of 3,425 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cains Hill Ave
Description: Located in the heart of Buckhead, Cellar 56's delectable menu is complemented by the flavorful selection of wines. Every palate is accommodated with the menu broken into food categories to include Land, Sea, Garden, and Sweets, each priced $5-$7. Cellar 56 works with local farms and dairies to bring the best and freshest ingredients to the table. Many of the wine selections are sourced from boutique wineries on small allocation to bring Spectator rated 90+ wines to the consumer starting at $24 a bottle and by the glass at $3 half and $6 full. The remaining wine choices are available by the bottle and include many favorites at various pricing.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good variety of tapas, with some unique dishes. Nice place to have a light dinner and drinks before partying in the East Andrews area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    4
    10
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Romantic Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I love tapas restaurants and this one was no exception. Being able to order lots of little dishes and share is romantic and fun, plus a great way to get just the right amount of food. This particular restaurant had great service and very good, plus a romantic, candle-lit atmosphere. None of the food was so spectacular that I'd prefer going twice to trying other Atlanta cuisine (except perhaps the flour-less chocolate cake, which I highly recommend!). However, it was an awesome date and a restaurant I would definitely suggest going to at least once.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow, pleasantly surprised....very tucked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

I was extremely impressed by the staff, wine selection, atmosphere, and the food was amazing. It was like watching a movie with an all star cast....every part was played perfectly. We had a bottle of Geisha Girl wine, which is a seasonal wine. We elected to sit at the bar, which was very enjoyable. The bartender Mike was very knowledgable and mixed up a great after dinner cocktail. I love the intimate setting, which is great for a date or just a nice quiet evening out. A must go! I can't wait to revisit!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Small Gem full of Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We visited Cellar 56 at 6:30pm on a Saturday night without reservations and were seated without problem. By 8pm the place was starting to get packed and pretty loud. This place is really small but our server informed us that the upper level of the restaurant would be opening soon. The format is southern tapas and everything (including the wine!) is priced in the $5-12 range. We had a couple of picky eaters with us who really enjoyed the Fried Green Tomatoes. We tried 8 different items from the menu and found the corn on the cob, lamb lollys, and pulled pork flatbread to be standouts.
Shhhh....Supertip: After dining......Make sure your male companions are wearing blazers; then ask the server for a "code". Look for a red phone booth outside the restaurant and try the code. You'll be very pleasantly surprised.....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best kept hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a splendid experience at Cellar 56. A friend wanted to take me out to dinner as a pre-birthday celebration. I suggested, C56 and was not disappointed. The food was amazing and the service was impressive. Michael the bartender made some of the best drinks! I will be back soon! I enjoyed my pre-birthday dinner immensely. I would suggested it if you are looking for a romantic date night or just simply want an enjoyable meal in a small quaint atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar 56 also viewed

 

Been to Cellar 56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cellar 56, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.