We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar B Q you wish your mama made its beyond finger licking great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heirloom Market

Heirloom Market
2243 Akers Mill Road, Atlanta, GA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 3,466 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Powers Ferry Road dead ends into Akers Mill Road near an access road adjacent to Interstate 285 West. Heirloom Market does not have a visible sign near the road but it is located next to a convenience store in a very small aging parking lot.
Restaurant details
Description: Powers Ferry Road dead ends into Akers Mill Road near an access road adjacent to Interstate 285 West. Heirloom Market does not have a visible sign near the road but it is located next to a convenience store in a very small aging parking lot.
Marietta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bar B Q you wish your mama made its beyond finger licking great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Forget Memphis or Texas or North Carolina and Kansas City this joint beats all rib joints anywhere in any city on any planet .

Stand in line step up to the cashier and begin your palates journey to ecstasy .

Brisket is so meaty so juicy and so tender you want to shake the cow and the rancher for giving your tummy a meat erection .. Ribs tender, pink and perfectly Bar B Qued in need of no sauce other than your watery lip smack ..

Every bite is summer sunshine and sweet smoke . Best Ribs and I have ribbed out all over the USA... Best brisket and my jewish mama makes a mean one but nothing as delectable as this joint...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like a farmer...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

... out-STANDING in the field. This is by far one of the best BBQ places I have ever been to. I had the brisket, pulled pork, fries, and cole slaw. Every bite of everything was amazing! On top of the deliciousness of the food was the atmosphere. This place is tiny! But what it lacks in size, it makes up for character and feel. I actually ate standing up on the covered patio outside with 3 strangers. It was so freaking cool!
I could have eaten inside, sitting down, with strangers, but it was a gorgeous day.
I will always go out of my way to eat at this place when I am in Atlanta.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Jal Meokkesseumnida = "Bon Appetit" in Korean I think....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wow! this was a gem of an experience. The brisket platter with Korean Sweet Potato chips and kim chee slaw and pickes....OMG!!
No joke, no exaggeration, it was the best bbq I have ever eaten in my life!!!
That "HotLanta" sauce was lip-smacking good!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best in Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It seems that you can't miss at Heirloom - brisket, pulled pork, ribs, coleslaw, beans, sweet potato fries, sauces - all qualify for best in show. I agree with the other reviews: brilliant Korean spice twist on Southern BBQ. Be aware that no beer is served. The wait lines may be long but the service is quick and polite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent fusion of traditional BBQ with a Korean flare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Ive been here two times in 48 hours. The first time was around 1:30pm on Thursday afternoon and it was jam packed with a line out the door into the parking lot. Fortunately, the weather was nice and I wasn't in a rush to get back to my office. The crowd consisted of people in suits and ties, blue collar workers and a few families. The place is very small and you might be standing up while eating, but the food is awesome. I had the pork platter with mac & cheese and Korean sweet potatoes. For $11, its quite a lot of food. For those that like to lather on their own sauces, they have bottles of various types to choose from. The Korean BBQ sauce and the Hotlanta sauces were my personal favorites.

If you are going for a slightly healthier option, try the BBQ turkey or BBQ chicken with a side of their baked beans and a non-fried Korean dish. On my 2nd trip, I had pickled beets and cucumber slices. The sweetness of my side dish counter-balanced the spicy sauces I used to coat my chicken. Overall, a fantastic option but be sure to exercise patience with finding a seat and a parking space.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heirloom Market also viewed

 

Been to Heirloom Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heirloom Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.