We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holeman & Finch Public House

Holeman & Finch Public House
2277 Peachtree Rd. NE, Atlanta, GA
(404) 948-1175
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 3,274 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Contemporary, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We've been to H & F several times and it truly became one of my favorite Atlanta restaurants! The burger is the best ever, you can taste the meat even with the house-made condiments and perfectly toasted bun. The brunch had perfectly cooked poached eggs and the bacon and grits were great. But my favorite of all the meals we had was when we took 6 friends/family members and shared so many of their wonderful dishes. My favorite had to be the cornmeal fried oysters! By all means be sure to order one of their libations from the bar.....stretch yourself and order one of their "specials"!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Country Fried Brisket Steak=Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our party of 4 sampled almost everything on the menu & found nothing we didn't love. Standouts were the Country Fried Brisket Steak, which melted in your mouth & the Farm Egg & Pancetta Carbonara, so rich & full of flavor! We also had meat & cheese plates as appetizers & let the chef make the selections for each-outstanding! Their cocktails are very imaginative & there is a very large selection of beers. We got lucky & got the last of the special burgers-the serving of which was announced by megaphone in the bar. The burger was delicious! Portions & prices are just right & that allows you to try many of their selections-their "small plates/tapas" are the way to go! There is a very dynamic social & bar scene, valet parking (don't try to find a place to park yourself), & this is definitely a gem of a restaurant. It is a little hard to find as it is not a stand-alone building. Small, but definitely cozy & warm inside. Great to be able to see the open kitchen & hanging cuts of meat!! We had to wait a little while for some of the drink orders at the table but it was a very busy night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Juiciest burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We went on a Wednesday night and it was pretty crowded for midweek. The restaurant is extremely small. It's separated into a bar area and a sitting area. We arrived at 8:30pm to reserve a burger and were not disappointed. It was juicy and delicious. I don't care for pickles but they were wonderful with the burger. Before taking a bite, my hubby complained about where is the mayo, lettuce & tomato. After one bite, I didn't hear his voice until he was done. He enjoyed it, as is. We also had the arugula salad, African squash & bread basket. It was all good. I would return again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This place is WHY we eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I LOVE being a Chef, (retired), and having a culinary background, especially, when I get to eat at a place like Holeman & Finch!!!
These guys and gals KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING! THANK YOU!
Pot of Chicken Liver Pate, with Apple Cider Jelly....SPOT ON.
Deviled eggs, Three ways.....anyone's Grandma would be proud!
Misty Point Oysters, raw.....perfect. Soft Pretzel, WOW! Farm Egg and Guanciale Carbonara, SUPERB, and the BURGER.....off the chain! Perfect fries and awesome ketchup.
The service was excellent as well, and the bartenders did a great job, on the VERY busy night we visited. They didn't miss a beat, served and recommended food, mixed some tasty cocktails, and kept it all together.
I read here that there are a few complaints.....
Yes, this place is small, loud, crowded, and you might have to wait....but that is what makes the experience even better. Enjoy it's uniqueness....it is totally worth it. You will NOT be disappointed. Cannot wait to return.....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“American style tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a family friendly oriented restaurant this is not the place. However, if you are looking for something different and indicative of Atlanta's food scene this is a great place.
We took the server's lead in order of variety of dishes including the hot dog, bacon-caramel popcorn, pasta carbonara and we were not dissapointed. Food is heavy, they are not shy with the butter.
We got there after 10 pm hamburger craze and we were able to watch them prepare the burgers, that was pretty cool!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holeman & Finch Public House also viewed

 

Been to Holeman & Finch Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holeman & Finch Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.