We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Atlanta Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Carnegie Way, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Downtown Atlanta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #38 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here one night for a Falcons game and walked to the Dome. The hotel is small and the restaurant was closed (for remodel but will reopen soon)but it was worth the stay. The price was right considering it is downtown. Its within walking distance to the Dome, World of Coke, Aquarium and the subway is in the same block. Right across the street is a parking garage that can range from $15. to $35 a night, which is a good deal. The interior is very new and modern. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. Its a great choice for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    67
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
38
7
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Came to Atlanta, yet again, and was surprised at this property. The rooms are nice and spacious, including the bathrooms. Hotel staff are friendly and the market store well stocked. Only thing that lacks are the towels. Something about Marriott and towel quality......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Basically no amenities. I'd say it's a two star hotel. Here is what I told the management.

Heater vent blew directly onto bed with dry dry air, fridge either too warm or would freeze everything, no microwave, coffee maker only for one cup, not enough towels for four people, bed did not have mattress protector - only one sheet between me and mattress is not hygenic, sofa bed uncomfortable, sheets come right off comforter also not hygenic as comforter probably not washed between customers, small bedroom, not clean in corners and edges of room there is lots of dust under furniture and behind, doors and walls have visible markings, internet sometimes drops off or is slow in room, cheap sofa, cheap fake vinyl floors, no amenities, sparse toiletries, no breakfast only sara lee muffins and oranges that was it, no mention of continental breakfast hours or willingness to help when we missed the hours, houscleaning did not make last call and did not clean room two of the days, one housecleaner said he would clean room and did not, only one wash machine and dryer and wash machine not cleaned or maintained inside dirty, pack and play very thin cushion not good for sleeping baby, my rate was changed after confirmation and i could not change it back, items available for purchase downstairs did not suit our needs and no store available within two blocks. did not report most of these problems as was too busy just dealing with them. only the breakfast did we report and got no assistance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Don't waste your time or money at this hotel. Truly a wasted experience and moreover the hotel manager had an attitude which prompted me to checkout and never return. The location was convenient for my meetings, but this was the only positive thing going for this place.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ritz or Ellis next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for the SEC Championship Game (Roll Tide!). My GPS had a bit of a hiccup finding it, but nothing a quick u-turn didn't fix. A friend couldn't make the trip at the last minute, so the desk offered me a single queen room for a discount off my reservation. It was a good choice. The room was cozy, but not small. There was plenty of room to get dressed and the walk-in shower was cavernous by urban hotel standards. The room was extremely clean and well-apportioned. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Valet parking for $25 is a bit high, but it is downtown Atlanta. I didn't eat in the restaurant, which is a big plus for a Courtyard, but the Starbucks counter was quite nice. Also, I was able to get a glass of milk at night, which is not often the case in hotels. The walk to the Dome is easy, right through Centennial Park. Ted's Montana Grill is a walk away with excellent food. With Bama winning a great game, I had absolutely nothing to complain about and looking forward to staying here for future Georgia Dome / Philips Arena / GWCC events.

Room Tip: Go with a high floor to escape street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a comfortable stay at the Courtyard Atlanta downtown over the Thanksgiving weekend. If you're looking for reasonably-priced downtown lodging, you could hardly do better. Staff was unfailingly helpful and gracious, and the facilities were generally relaxing.

But next time I visit ATL, I may spend a bit more and stay elsewhere because of the following nits (none of which were very important, just unexpected hiccups in an otherwise good stay):

*the rooms are small, and many are oddly shaped. While I love the re-use of historical buildings, as is the case here, I wish floorplans and hallways would be a bit more "standard"

*the business center is directly behind the mini-mart -- easy to miss. Also, while it's free, users are locked into Ask.com for just about all transactions

*the elevators are exceedingly slow, and occasionally need the "open door" button pressed after you arrive at your floor

*a major MARTA stop is right outside the door. While this will save you $40 on a cab ride to the airport, the downside is, the immediate area can be full of panhandlers at night

This Courtyard is your downtown budget choice. Next time, I'll pay ~50% more and see what some of the neighboring properties offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The only drawback to this hotel during my recent stay was the lack of multiple elevators. Yes, the elevator that many others have spoken about in previous reviews continues to be down. However, staff have allowed individuals to take the staff elevator during busy times which made for less waiting. Staff Laurel, Tori, and many others whose names I cannot remember were always pleasant and accomodating. The room (corner king) was roomy with a knockout bathroom. Daily staff attention to the room was appreciated and always nicely done. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in outside of home. The hotel was easily within walking distance of the Georgia World Congress Center where I attended a recent convention.

All in all, a great little hotel that packs an extremely positive wallop for your dollars!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Downtown

Address: 133 Carnegie Way, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Downtown Atlanta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Atlanta Downtown offers guests a unique boutique style lodging experience in the energetic heart of the city. Take advantage of our complimentary WiFi throughout and find plenty of space to work and relax in our inviting guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.