We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel service, spend your money elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Atlanta Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133 Carnegie Way, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Downtown Atlanta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel service, spend your money elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Don't waste your time or money at this hotel. Truly a wasted experience and moreover the hotel manager had an attitude which prompted me to checkout and never return. The location was convenient for my meetings, but this was the only positive thing going for this place.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ritz or Ellis next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
40
39
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for the SEC Championship Game (Roll Tide!). My GPS had a bit of a hiccup finding it, but nothing a quick u-turn didn't fix. A friend couldn't make the trip at the last minute, so the desk offered me a single queen room for a discount off my reservation. It was a good choice. The room was cozy, but not small. There was plenty of room to get dressed and the walk-in shower was cavernous by urban hotel standards. The room was extremely clean and well-apportioned. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Valet parking for $25 is a bit high, but it is downtown Atlanta. I didn't eat in the restaurant, which is a big plus for a Courtyard, but the Starbucks counter was quite nice. Also, I was able to get a glass of milk at night, which is not often the case in hotels. The walk to the Dome is easy, right through Centennial Park. Ted's Montana Grill is a walk away with excellent food. With Bama winning a great game, I had absolutely nothing to complain about and looking forward to staying here for future Georgia Dome / Philips Arena / GWCC events.

Room Tip: Go with a high floor to escape street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a comfortable stay at the Courtyard Atlanta downtown over the Thanksgiving weekend. If you're looking for reasonably-priced downtown lodging, you could hardly do better. Staff was unfailingly helpful and gracious, and the facilities were generally relaxing.

But next time I visit ATL, I may spend a bit more and stay elsewhere because of the following nits (none of which were very important, just unexpected hiccups in an otherwise good stay):

*the rooms are small, and many are oddly shaped. While I love the re-use of historical buildings, as is the case here, I wish floorplans and hallways would be a bit more "standard"

*the business center is directly behind the mini-mart -- easy to miss. Also, while it's free, users are locked into Ask.com for just about all transactions

*the elevators are exceedingly slow, and occasionally need the "open door" button pressed after you arrive at your floor

*a major MARTA stop is right outside the door. While this will save you $40 on a cab ride to the airport, the downside is, the immediate area can be full of panhandlers at night

This Courtyard is your downtown budget choice. Next time, I'll pay ~50% more and see what some of the neighboring properties offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The only drawback to this hotel during my recent stay was the lack of multiple elevators. Yes, the elevator that many others have spoken about in previous reviews continues to be down. However, staff have allowed individuals to take the staff elevator during busy times which made for less waiting. Staff Laurel, Tori, and many others whose names I cannot remember were always pleasant and accomodating. The room (corner king) was roomy with a knockout bathroom. Daily staff attention to the room was appreciated and always nicely done. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in outside of home. The hotel was easily within walking distance of the Georgia World Congress Center where I attended a recent convention.

All in all, a great little hotel that packs an extremely positive wallop for your dollars!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

If you're a football fan and you wii be attending a game at Georgia Dome, this is a great place to stay. It is located one block away from Peach State Street where you can have a great dinner, a glass of red wine or just a beer. The hotel is beautiful. The staff in general are friendly and helpful, they treat you almost like in home. Talking about the football, you can walk to the Dome in 10 minutes so you don't have to worry about parking. Also, close to the hotel you can go to the Coca Cola Museum and the Georgia Aquarium. Bottom line if you want to discover Atlanta Downtown, this is a real option. Thank you Courtyard Atlanta Downtown for an awesome weekend!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The front desk were all very friendly and helpful which always is a stay enhancer. The room was nicely decorated, clean, but very small. The lack of space detracted from our stay slightly, but that doesn't take away from the fact that it was a good stay in a nice hotel. The only suggestion I have is to hire more professional valet staff. The valet we dealt with was on his cell phone and took awhile to tend to us. The lack of professionalism and service he exhibited was disappointing. All in all, great value for the downtown location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is probably the nicest courtyard I have ever stayed at. The hotel has a few problems when I stayed. One of the elevators was done and going up and down was a pain. The tv was out for a while and that was an inconvience. The rooms are very roomy and the bathrooms were very nice

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Downtown

Address: 133 Carnegie Way, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Downtown Atlanta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#35 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Atlanta Downtown offers guests a unique boutique style lodging experience in the energetic heart of the city. Take advantage of our complimentary WiFi throughout and find plenty of space to work and relax in our inviting guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.