We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem near the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Save Saved
You added Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $109
Ranked #10 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem near the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Needed a hotel for one night near Atlanta Hartsfield for a recent business trip and ended here. Easy 3-minute ride on the Skytrain from the airport; efficient check in staff; and the room was large, clean and bathroom great. Good services in the lobby. Highly recommended if you need somewhere near the airport.

Room Tip: My room on the 6th floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    155
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
83
116
45
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a great experience with this hotel. As I departed the airport tram from the rental car facility, a Marriott employee greeted me at the elevator, asked if I was checking in. Yes. Had me on a list of guests and wished me a pleasant stay. It was soon obvisou that this person had communicated my whereabouts to the hotel. As I walked into the lobby I was greated by the front staff with iPads in hand, greeted my by name and handed me my room key. Gave me a quick tour of how to find the restaurants, bar and concierge lounge. Incredible.The service didn't end there. The young man serving the concierge lounge loved his job and so happy to help everyone. I was craving some mixed nuts with my beer but non were out. He rushed back and got me some mixed nuts.

The rooms was very nice, well decorated and had a big 42" tv. And for those that read my other reviews, I checked on the Iron. YES! It has the burst of steam feature. Ordered some room service, it was quick and delivered by another friendly and personable young man. Clearly the hotel management has done a great job training the staff to provide the highest possible service.

Could there be achilles heel with this hotel? Unbelievably it was the bed. Not real comfortable and you could hear and feel springs. The pillows were great as was the comforter. But woke up with a sore lower back which never happens. No big deal, different beds for different people.

Can wait to come back to enjoy the great service and luxury.

Room Tip: Get a room on the concierge floor. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I found it very nice with one small exception. Our room was large enough, clean and comfortable. It had a safe, coffee maker, etc.. The lobby was nice as we're the restaurant and lobby bar. Our food in the restaurant was good and the service was very fast.

The convenience to the car rental and domestic terminal is fantastic.

My only complaint would be that their free Internet is only available in the lobby, bar, and restaurant. Having to pay for in room Internet is a knock against the property.

The pluses out weigh the one minus so we would go back if connections called for a ATL hotel. By the way I have stayed at several ATL hotels, mostly Hilton Honors properties, but for me this is better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although this appears not to be a old hotel, the decor and furniture both in the lobby and rooms is depressing. The highlight was the decent gym and friendly Southern service. Lowlights: dinner and breakfast at Southside were mediocre, strange poorly maintained bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in Atlanta for a summit and this hotel was the one selected. The room was modern, featured a fairly comfortable bed, flat screen tv and a modern but, small bathroom. Housekeeping did a good job and our room was clean.

Expect to pay for everything here, you will not find those free extras with some other establishments. Bottled water-$5, Internet $12... you get the idea.

Either way, it can be a bit confusing when flying into the airport and getting to this hotel. What you have to do is go near the MARTA train (near baggage claim) and cross over to the Skytrain, get off the skytrain go left then get on the elevator. Once you exit the elevator you must go around the building to the hotel entrance. Its a short walk but, a little unnerving at night if you are a female alone as it isnt lit as well as it could be.

Since I didnt bring a car, I didnt use the parking area however, I was told it costs a bit to park here.

Your only option for food is the Champions Sports Bar and Grill in the hotel unless you have a vehicle or take a taxi elsewhere. The food is mediocre, the service subpar on all five nights that I stayed.

As others mentioned in their reviews, the staff could use some polishing. They are clueless when it comes to what events are going on and where they are being held. They are VERY slow with room service. However, once they arrive, they are polite.

Decor throughout the hotel is very nice, modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We actually changed our reservation from the other full service Marriott in town to this one as it is steps away from a very convenient train that takes you right to your terminal. We were able to save money by returning our rental car the night before and avoiding a shuttle ride or cab fare to the airport. Great location...you can still hear the planes as they take off, but it is not disturbing (unlike the guests on our floor who went in and out of their rooms at 0300 hours)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you need a convenient place to stay while traveling through the Atlanta airport, then look no further than the Marriott Gateway Hotel. It doesn't get any more convenient that taking the train from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is welcoming, spotless and room service was delicious. This is the place to stay and well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.