We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, mediocre food, lot of little charges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway to your Saves list
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent room, mediocre food, lot of little charges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in Atlanta for a summit and this hotel was the one selected. The room was modern, featured a fairly comfortable bed, flat screen tv and a modern but, small bathroom. Housekeeping did a good job and our room was clean.

Expect to pay for everything here, you will not find those free extras with some other establishments. Bottled water-$5, Internet $12... you get the idea.

Either way, it can be a bit confusing when flying into the airport and getting to this hotel. What you have to do is go near the MARTA train (near baggage claim) and cross over to the Skytrain, get off the skytrain go left then get on the elevator. Once you exit the elevator you must go around the building to the hotel entrance. Its a short walk but, a little unnerving at night if you are a female alone as it isnt lit as well as it could be.

Since I didnt bring a car, I didnt use the parking area however, I was told it costs a bit to park here.

Your only option for food is the Champions Sports Bar and Grill in the hotel unless you have a vehicle or take a taxi elsewhere. The food is mediocre, the service subpar on all five nights that I stayed.

As others mentioned in their reviews, the staff could use some polishing. They are clueless when it comes to what events are going on and where they are being held. They are VERY slow with room service. However, once they arrive, they are polite.

Decor throughout the hotel is very nice, modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We actually changed our reservation from the other full service Marriott in town to this one as it is steps away from a very convenient train that takes you right to your terminal. We were able to save money by returning our rental car the night before and avoiding a shuttle ride or cab fare to the airport. Great location...you can still hear the planes as they take off, but it is not disturbing (unlike the guests on our floor who went in and out of their rooms at 0300 hours)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you need a convenient place to stay while traveling through the Atlanta airport, then look no further than the Marriott Gateway Hotel. It doesn't get any more convenient that taking the train from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is welcoming, spotless and room service was delicious. This is the place to stay and well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachMtnDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
96 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very convenient to airport, with Sky Train that connects hotel with domestic terminals. Used hotel for an overnight stay when returning from Germany. Be sure to note that the train does not connect with the completely separate international terminal at Hartsfield – you have to take a cramped, small shuttle van. As for the facility, it is just over a year old so the soft and hard goods are in great shape. The bed is very comfortable. Stayed on the concierge level, which offers evening light meal and breakfast. Full of regulars who the hostess knew well – otherwise, you feel like an interloper. Front desk staff could really use some polishing when it comes to customer service and positive attitude. I used rewards points and the front desk tried to tell me my reservation afforded me a concierge level room (no difference there) but no access to the concierge lounge! I raised a fuss and they acquiesced – not my idea of service after a 10 hour flight and 6 time zones.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was there for a few days for a conference, and I think the hotel is great for that purpose: you need somewhere very nice, good for business, and with easy access to ATL--there's a convenient 5 minute people-mover/monorail that, to my understanding, just makes that loop, to/from the airport. You exit the station and you're about 40 yards from the hotel. As one person with our group put it, it's a "businessman's jail"--which sounds pretty negative, but is acurate to the extent that there's NOTHING else around it--looked like an empty warehouse across the street.

The hotel itself was modern-looking, well-maintained, and the staff was very professional. I found the lobby layout a bit confusing and without helpful signage to the meeting room "wing." Like the rest of the hotel, the conference facilities were very good. Even the conference food was very good...for hotel banquet food. There's one sports bar/restuarant that I found to be quite loud, but still decent food. (Having said that, you don't really have any choice in dining if you're there without a car.) Aside from the noisy bar/restaurant, sound was not a problem, esp given the property's proximity to ATL.

Nice, clean work-out room and equipment. The yoga/exercise mats, though, are pretty thin--sounds picky, but I use them, so it's something I notice. Is it just me or is it a standard that only about half the integrated TVs on treadmills/elipticals work at business hotels?...and there's only about 3 channels that come in with any clarity?

The room itself was, again, very nice. Very comfortable bed, nice workspace, and big flat-screen TV. Not stand-out, pretty much just what I'd expect from this level of business hotel. (I do find Marriott's in general are good with these features.) The bathroom was well appointed and modern, but a little tight, not much room for more than 1 person in there. And I was surprised (disappointed) the towels weren't a little nicer/thicker. The shower had one of those helpful curved/half-moon shower curtain bars...which I don't understand why more hotels don't use, rather than the ones that just go straight across; doesn't seem like too heavy an investment for a little more shower space. And it was a good shower, with a nice, fat adjustable shower head.

Overall, for what it is--an upscale business hotel (essentially) at the airport, it worked out great. Rates were reasonable also. I can't imagine a family staying there unless you need/want to be that close to the airport and/or have a car to get to where you're REALLY going in the area.

Room Tip: I don't know that any room's particulalry better than another. There's no view, to spea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pernasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

One tram stop from the Domestic terminal - a 40 second ride, the tram runs every 90 seconds and operates 24 hours a day.

New hotel nicely decorated with a bright, open lobby. Guest rooms are roomy, with iSleep alarm clocks that can charge your iPhone, plenty of plug in outlets and a nice desk for working.

Room Tip: Surprisingly the rooms are pretty quiet - you can occasionally hear a tram so ask for a room farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KS_Travelin_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night before taking off from ATL for our honeymoon. Initially booked the "romance package", which seemed a bit overpriced but after all I only plan on having one honeymoon! Well, plans changed and I adjusted to the "Park'n'fly package" after I learned that you are not allowed to combine the two. We stuck with the park'n'fly deal as that was one of the main contributors to our decision to stay at this hotel.

Pros:
Comfortable beds, clean rooms, up-to-date furnishings and decor, courteous staff, quiet rooms even with proximity to airport, proximity to airport

Cons:
Confusing parking situation, employees not knowledgeable regarding options/packages, prolonged transport to international check-in

Notes:
With the park'n'fly package, you're given a pass that covers the expense of parking at the hotel for an additional 7 days after you check out. The problem is that it seems only one or two people in the entire hotel know what patrons are supposed to do regarding the myriad of cards and coupons used to effect the discount when you leave the garage. We ended up getting stuck in the garage and having to get a staff member to come let us out because one of the folks when we checked in had given us incorrect instructions.

Though there is a [no-charge] tram leading from the hotel to the airport, if you are checking in for an international flight, you will need to take an additional 10-15 minute bus ride from the point where the tram stops to a different terminal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxlonerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
2.1 mi away
Hilton Atlanta Airport
Hilton Atlanta Airport
#73 of 176 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Atlanta Airport Gateway
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Airport North
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Airport West - Camp Creek
1.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#17 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing