We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uber Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway to your Saves list
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Uber Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We actually changed our reservation from the other full service Marriott in town to this one as it is steps away from a very convenient train that takes you right to your terminal. We were able to save money by returning our rental car the night before and avoiding a shuttle ride or cab fare to the airport. Great location...you can still hear the planes as they take off, but it is not disturbing (unlike the guests on our floor who went in and out of their rooms at 0300 hours)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    170
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
96
129
48
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you need a convenient place to stay while traveling through the Atlanta airport, then look no further than the Marriott Gateway Hotel. It doesn't get any more convenient that taking the train from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is welcoming, spotless and room service was delicious. This is the place to stay and well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very convenient to airport, with Sky Train that connects hotel with domestic terminals. Used hotel for an overnight stay when returning from Germany. Be sure to note that the train does not connect with the completely separate international terminal at Hartsfield – you have to take a cramped, small shuttle van. As for the facility, it is just over a year old so the soft and hard goods are in great shape. The bed is very comfortable. Stayed on the concierge level, which offers evening light meal and breakfast. Full of regulars who the hostess knew well – otherwise, you feel like an interloper. Front desk staff could really use some polishing when it comes to customer service and positive attitude. I used rewards points and the front desk tried to tell me my reservation afforded me a concierge level room (no difference there) but no access to the concierge lounge! I raised a fuss and they acquiesced – not my idea of service after a 10 hour flight and 6 time zones.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was there for a few days for a conference, and I think the hotel is great for that purpose: you need somewhere very nice, good for business, and with easy access to ATL--there's a convenient 5 minute people-mover/monorail that, to my understanding, just makes that loop, to/from the airport. You exit the station and you're about 40 yards from the hotel. As one person with our group put it, it's a "businessman's jail"--which sounds pretty negative, but is acurate to the extent that there's NOTHING else around it--looked like an empty warehouse across the street.

The hotel itself was modern-looking, well-maintained, and the staff was very professional. I found the lobby layout a bit confusing and without helpful signage to the meeting room "wing." Like the rest of the hotel, the conference facilities were very good. Even the conference food was very good...for hotel banquet food. There's one sports bar/restuarant that I found to be quite loud, but still decent food. (Having said that, you don't really have any choice in dining if you're there without a car.) Aside from the noisy bar/restaurant, sound was not a problem, esp given the property's proximity to ATL.

Nice, clean work-out room and equipment. The yoga/exercise mats, though, are pretty thin--sounds picky, but I use them, so it's something I notice. Is it just me or is it a standard that only about half the integrated TVs on treadmills/elipticals work at business hotels?...and there's only about 3 channels that come in with any clarity?

The room itself was, again, very nice. Very comfortable bed, nice workspace, and big flat-screen TV. Not stand-out, pretty much just what I'd expect from this level of business hotel. (I do find Marriott's in general are good with these features.) The bathroom was well appointed and modern, but a little tight, not much room for more than 1 person in there. And I was surprised (disappointed) the towels weren't a little nicer/thicker. The shower had one of those helpful curved/half-moon shower curtain bars...which I don't understand why more hotels don't use, rather than the ones that just go straight across; doesn't seem like too heavy an investment for a little more shower space. And it was a good shower, with a nice, fat adjustable shower head.

Overall, for what it is--an upscale business hotel (essentially) at the airport, it worked out great. Rates were reasonable also. I can't imagine a family staying there unless you need/want to be that close to the airport and/or have a car to get to where you're REALLY going in the area.

Room Tip: I don't know that any room's particulalry better than another. There's no view, to spea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

One tram stop from the Domestic terminal - a 40 second ride, the tram runs every 90 seconds and operates 24 hours a day.

New hotel nicely decorated with a bright, open lobby. Guest rooms are roomy, with iSleep alarm clocks that can charge your iPhone, plenty of plug in outlets and a nice desk for working.

Room Tip: Surprisingly the rooms are pretty quiet - you can occasionally hear a tram so ask for a room farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night before taking off from ATL for our honeymoon. Initially booked the "romance package", which seemed a bit overpriced but after all I only plan on having one honeymoon! Well, plans changed and I adjusted to the "Park'n'fly package" after I learned that you are not allowed to combine the two. We stuck with the park'n'fly deal as that was one of the main contributors to our decision to stay at this hotel.

Pros:
Comfortable beds, clean rooms, up-to-date furnishings and decor, courteous staff, quiet rooms even with proximity to airport, proximity to airport

Cons:
Confusing parking situation, employees not knowledgeable regarding options/packages, prolonged transport to international check-in

Notes:
With the park'n'fly package, you're given a pass that covers the expense of parking at the hotel for an additional 7 days after you check out. The problem is that it seems only one or two people in the entire hotel know what patrons are supposed to do regarding the myriad of cards and coupons used to effect the discount when you leave the garage. We ended up getting stuck in the garage and having to get a staff member to come let us out because one of the folks when we checked in had given us incorrect instructions.

Though there is a [no-charge] tram leading from the hotel to the airport, if you are checking in for an international flight, you will need to take an additional 10-15 minute bus ride from the point where the tram stops to a different terminal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had a one-night stay on Friday, October 26, 2012. There were 4 in my party, and we booked one room with two double beds. When we arrived for check-in, the desk attendant told me that I had already checked in, which was not true. They called the gentleman in "my room", and low and behold, he had the same name as me (he went by his middle name, which is also my first name). The attendant promptly gave me a new room; however, in making my reservation online, I had asked for a room close to the elevator, and the newly assigned room was what seemed like a MILE from the elevator.

After my stay, I received my email receipt like I usually do...along with the other gentlman's receipt with the last 4 digits of his credit card! Probably can't do much with only 4 digits, but if I was him, I wouldn't be happy. Lucky I'm not a thief...

Besides all of this, the hotel looks brand new and is immaculate. No free on-site parking, so that's another $16. Regardless, I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#9 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#17 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.