We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   311 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

During mt stay at motel 6 downtown the staff was really friendly, as it received the package I bought online and gave me tips about the city. The room was OK, it was not as noisy as I expected because of the highway proximity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    38
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
33
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed with our dog and 12-year-old daughter. Ben (the front desk clerk) is the best feature of this hotel; he gave great directions, recommendations, and reassured the safety of staying downtown Atlanta. The free parking is a value, especially with being able to walk to the Coke museum, aquarium, centennial park, hard rock cafe, etc. Ben helped us with where to walk the dog; the area is good in the day time but after dark my husband took precautions with dog-walking. The room was clean, linen clean, and like the others said a bit noisy but a wonderful value, especially if staying with a pet (no pet fee). Thank you Ben!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

By far the WORST service and accomodation. All I can say is that you might as well spend the money and stay somewhere decent. The person in charge was awful. The hotel was in poor condition. The ac was out and dirty. The smell was awful. Just overall a piece of sh** place and service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are on a budget and are not going to stay in your room very much, this hotel is for you. Bring your earplugs though, the walls are really thin. There is a major highway right outside the window, you can hear your neighbors very well, and you can hear doors slamming in the hallway.

The beds were cheap, but not bad. I did have a pretty big cigarette burn on one of my blankets which was quite gross.

The hallway and doors do need painting very badly. The carpet is okay though. I did like the locking doors on the second floor. This hotel is not in the greatest part of town, but not the worst.

For the good things about this hotel, location, location, location. It is close to all the tourist attractions, including CNN, the aquarium, and the world of Coke.

The front desk gentleman, Ben, was awesome. He was very informative, very helpful, and he seemed to genuinely love his job.

All in all, if i travel back to Atlanta, I will spend the extra money to stay in a nicer hotel. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hello Travelers!!!
Well my thoughts and opinion of this Motel 6 are great ones. This was my very 1st time in Atlanta and for the location and fairly priced room, it's a "can't beat it" deal. This Motel is conveniently located near all attractions for family, couples or singles.My room was on the 2nd floor and I found it very safe and secure that to enter the second floor required key access (wonderful perk).We also had a wonderful full view of the Atlanta highway which was a nice view since we were 1st time visitors. My only gripe was that the check-out time was at 11 a.m opposed to 12 p.m like other motels. All and all my experience with the hotel was a very good experience, so hope you also enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided to take a last-minute weekend trip to Atlanta, and were surprised to find a place downtown for such a reasonable price. Even though it's literally right next door to the Hilton, the free wifi and free parking made it an even better deal in such a prime location. My wife and I typically choose cheap rooms since we travel to see the sites and not hang out in the room watching tv. If this is your style too, I strongly recommend the downtown motel 6. Super helpful and friendly staff too.

But now for the bad news. Just on the other side of the hotel and down an embankment is a major highway. If you have any sensitivity to noise you better bring the earplugs to get any sleep.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel might be a little quieter as it is further from the road. Enjoy the free park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place is as basic an accommodation as you can get in downtown Atlanta while still being suitable. Yes there is free parking but this place is so cheap that they don't even give you free shampoo in the bathroom - just two little bars of facial soap. Place isn't in the greatest area (downtown Atlanta is kind of sketchy at night) but is centrally located. For a healthy restaurant nearby I recommend Metrofresh - it's less than a ten minute drive and totally worth it! Basic cheap motel quality beds, old TVs, frustrating elevator that takes forever to close and absolutely NO FRILLS. Got it for $53/night using a coupon code on the Motel6 website.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room with a city view as others have suggested, it worked out well for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Address: 311 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.