We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st timer - great pizza and not overcrowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Pizza Napoletana

Antico Pizza Napoletana
1093 Hemphill Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30318
404-724-2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 3,425 restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“1st timer - great pizza and not overcrowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

I had read all the great reviews of this place and was expecting a difficult time parking and finding a place to eat. We were there a little past lunch rush, 1:30 on a Friday and there was ample parking and seating - although it was still very busy. I loved the simplicity of the place and the freshness of the ingredients was undeniable. My 8 yo wasn't thrilled with the "char" spots on the pizza nor the basil lavished on top but with a little excavating he dug right in. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    244
    68
    30
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great pizza, but attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

The pizza remains really good, even great, but battitude is on the rise. The whole complex always seems to be in flux. Now they have valet parking, but they will surprise you with the $5 fee after you are blocked in to the lot. There is a also a store which sells some Italian foodstuffs and of course apparel to market the restaurants. No desserts at the pizza counter, all sweets have been moved to the back of the chicken restaurant. You have to figure out what you want, pay the cashier and then go back to the counter of choice, all of which is a little awkward. There seems to be a lot of employees, very few actually want to provide any service. I suppose it is the price of stardom.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Took me to Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW credit card Amex Card Member Review

Delicious margherita pizza was enjoyed in the piazza. Liked the food and the ambience so much that we went back to watch the World Cup Final, just 2 days later. We stayed later to enjoy the fresh pasta and roasted chicken. Memorable all around.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

No frills, crowded, hot & small place but terrific pizza! This was my first visit and I was pleasantly surprised. Tables are first come, first serve & you may share with others not in your party due to the limited seating. It does get hot in there but they have a few large pizza ovens cranking out the hot & fresh pizzas. The pizza was well worth the heat, crowd & noise to me. Our pie was very tasty & fresh with buffalo mozzarella, prosciutto & artichokes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Way Over Priced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Way Over Priced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I don't recommend this place because of 3 important reasons:

1. Way over priced!
2. The pizza is not great!
3. If it's your first time there you better come prepared to the counter when you order since the people there have no patience and they make you feel like you stuck the the line (2 people were behind me). You feel rushed and don't ask questions since the answered won't help you. We felt like they just wanted us out of the line.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to Antico Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Pizza Napoletana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.