We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what pizza should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Pizza Napoletana

Antico Pizza Napoletana
1093 Hemphill Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30318
404-724-2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 3,424 restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is what pizza should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

While visiting friends in Atlanta, they suggested we all go out for pizza. We drove over 6 hours and they want pizza? Don't be rude - pizza is fine. Well, this is unlike any pizza I have ever had. It is incredible. Real crust. Real cheese. Real sauce. And the sweet basil on top makes it perfect. This is what Italians consider pizza, not what Americans say is pizza. It is delicious.

The atmosphere is not for everyone, but we loved it. There is a long line out the door that moves pretty fast. You sit at the equivalent of a picnic table and are very likely rubbing shoulders with someone you don't know and the food is served on cooking trays and there are no plates - you eat on the cooking tray or a paper towel. To me, that was fun.

Bottom line, we will be back the next time we get to Atlanta.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    244
    67
    30
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The best pizza I have ever had! It was so good and tasted so real!! The drinks were expensive and there were no refills also get your drinks first..it looked like a long wait but as soon as we ordered the pizza was ready in 1-2 minutes. Fast, great, original pizza. We can't wait to go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bring a Microscope to View Pizza Toppings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The pizza here is very good. However, the toppings quantity is a complete rip-off. We ordered two different pizzas. On each (at least they are consistent), there were realistically two slices worth of toppings on an 8-slice pizza.

The ambiance is awful. The stools are uncomfortable, and you may end up facing a naked west window in late afternoon with the sun blinding you. Would it really be so hard to get a window shade?

The service is quick and efficient. You really don't need much service though. They just bring your pizza to the table and then take it away when you are finished. You place your own order at the counter.

This is a better place for groups, as you end up sharing a table with strangers.

We got there before the rush. Whilst there, the line snaked out of the place. To me, it would not be worth the wait.

Antico would be good for Tech students who can afford it. For grown ups, however, you can do better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for dinner this weekend and were not disappointed. We were a little worried about the line out the door, but it moved very quickly and was totally worth the wait. The pizza was delicious and the atmosphere very fun. You sit or stand around tables family style…and if you’re in the back room, you get to watch all the pizza making action. The pizza was served to us within minutes of ordering and was some of the best I’ve ever had. Oh, and it’s BYOB!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Love love love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The best pizza I've had outside Italy is in New York City.

Antico is definitely comparable if not better. It's a busy place with sometimes limited seating. The pizza is delicious and it's such a fun, casual hangout. The cannoli's are delicious too - an added bonus. IF you haven't been, go now!! It really is that good. If you don't like crowds and loud music, consider takeout!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to Antico Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Pizza Napoletana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.